We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago,il
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently spent 3 days here in March. The first night we had a room which had recently been renovated. It was tastefully done but had no view and so we requested to be moved. They moved us to the top floor with a balcony and a great view of the canals and museum area. While the room wasn't newly renovated, it was large with a comfortable bed. We were vary pleased with the staff, the historic hotel is beautiful, and the breakfast is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with a balcony for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that the team could accomodate you in a room of your preference. Thank you for notifying them so they could enable this for you. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    546
    194
    80
    39
See reviews for
120
562
97
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just got back from 3 nights at the American Hotel. Had a basic but very nice room, huge comfortable bed and the best nights sleep as it was very quiet. A lovely hotel, very clean and in a great location. The staff were, without exception, friendly and very helpful. if you want a good recommendation for a dutch restaurant ask the concierge, not only is he really helpful for all sorts of things but the restaurant he recommended was brilliant and not expensive either. Lots of Dutch people eating there which is always a good sign. thank you for a lovely stay and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, no view but we didnt mind that as it was really quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that you enjoyed the service and facilities. In a few months time, the rooms on your favorite 6th floor will have been renovated. This will hopefully enhance your comfort even more. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice centrally located in Amsterdam , historical building with some nice nostalgic touches . Rooms are pretty standard and where supprized with the size of the room considering an old City hotel. recommend this place for a nice weekend getaway

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy to hear that you had such a satisfactory experience. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here along with colleagues from 25th March for three nights. The hotel is in a good convenient location and its not a high class hotel but I consider it as a business hotel to be of quite good standard. My only real criticism is that since the last time I stayed the self service breakfast has now gone totally self service in that there is no longer even a tea/coffee service.
Although the breakfast is good and not very expensive I personally felt it a nuisance to go back and forth for drinks as well as food through a mix of tables where there is no easy route.
Other than that I consider it a very acceptable hotel and with generally good friendly staff.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in on the 5th floor is much larger than any I have stayed in on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay, your review posting and constructive comment. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed for three nights on our 10th anniversary. Never been to Amsterdam before and was made very welcome by the staff on arrival and during our stay. We enjoyed a complimentary drink in the palatial restaurant bar.
Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the canal.We would highly recommend staying here as it's very easy to get around due to the hotels location, and we will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit for your special occassion and your review posting. Good to hear that you will be returning, hopefully before your 20th anniversary. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a lovely hotel, the staff could not be nicer. There are parts of the hotel that does need a good lick of paint, however this would not put me off. The rooms were plenty big enough and we had a good view. Both in the bar and the restaurant the service was great. Hotel staff we also very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that you had such an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and the hotel. Hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam and would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel itself, especially the restaurant, is gorgeous, rooms very comfortable and staff so helpful. We found the location was also good, only about 5 mins from central station on the tram and close to shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting. Great to notice that you enjoyed your very first visit to Amsterdam. Your enthousiasm indicates that many visits will follow. We hope that we can be your hosts again upon future visits. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.