We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Urmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Central Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice centrally located in Amsterdam , historical building with some nice nostalgic touches . Rooms are pretty standard and where supprized with the size of the room considering an old City hotel. recommend this place for a nice weekend getaway

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy to hear that you had such a satisfactory experience. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    633
    223
    88
    44
See reviews for
142
669
108
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here along with colleagues from 25th March for three nights. The hotel is in a good convenient location and its not a high class hotel but I consider it as a business hotel to be of quite good standard. My only real criticism is that since the last time I stayed the self service breakfast has now gone totally self service in that there is no longer even a tea/coffee service.
Although the breakfast is good and not very expensive I personally felt it a nuisance to go back and forth for drinks as well as food through a mix of tables where there is no easy route.
Other than that I consider it a very acceptable hotel and with generally good friendly staff.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in on the 5th floor is much larger than any I have stayed in on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay, your review posting and constructive comment. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed for three nights on our 10th anniversary. Never been to Amsterdam before and was made very welcome by the staff on arrival and during our stay. We enjoyed a complimentary drink in the palatial restaurant bar.
Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the canal.We would highly recommend staying here as it's very easy to get around due to the hotels location, and we will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit for your special occassion and your review posting. Good to hear that you will be returning, hopefully before your 20th anniversary. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a lovely hotel, the staff could not be nicer. There are parts of the hotel that does need a good lick of paint, however this would not put me off. The rooms were plenty big enough and we had a good view. Both in the bar and the restaurant the service was great. Hotel staff we also very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that you had such an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and the hotel. Hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam and would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel itself, especially the restaurant, is gorgeous, rooms very comfortable and staff so helpful. We found the location was also good, only about 5 mins from central station on the tram and close to shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting. Great to notice that you enjoyed your very first visit to Amsterdam. Your enthousiasm indicates that many visits will follow. We hope that we can be your hosts again upon future visits. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very good hotel located in a good spot. It's a 20minute walk from the station or you can get a cab. Very helpful staff, very clean hotel.
Never ate at hotel so can't comment on that. Would stay aga in

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. It is very rewarding to read that you would stay again and hope to see you doing that soon! With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fascinating, art-deco structure, tastefully restored and extended. Location could not be better, for museums, theatres, royal palace, restaurants, posh and bargain shopping and public transport, including canal boat stops. Excellent room, breakfast and dinner, but dinner not cheap. Communications between staff could be improved, because restaurant manager was not aware we had booked B and B and, initially, asked us to pay for the breakfast. Generally, service was good, however. Well placed for a wide range of competitively priced restaurants, Dutch and of many other ethnic origins. Several tram routes stop in the square outside the hotel and, unlike in many continental cities, you can buy your ticket on the tram. Three different canal tours pick up opposite the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit, review posting and recommendations. We hope that we may welcome you again upon your next visit to our capitol. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.