We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just enjoy it! :P
great location / nice and quiet, service excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast options fabulous esp for me as I have a gluten allergy so there were so many options to choose from. The whole hotel is lovely and welcoming, cant recommend enough, price is well worth it as we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam more because the hotel was far more than we expected and staff went above and beyond to help us out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that our team displayed the service level that increased your comfort and joy. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    746
    254
    100
    46
See reviews for
176
796
119
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

i took my family to the hotel, its was my first time. the first time i visited the hotel and its became my favorite in Amsterdam. We (me & my family) really enjoy the visit. every thing was just perfect.

Room Tip: Have a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant stay at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam on several occasions for rock concerts at The Melkweg and tend to stay anywhere and everywhere. On my last visit I walked past the American Hotel and thought if the inside is as impressive as the outside then this is the place for me. I'm glad I stumped up the extra coin. The bedroom was decent with a great bed, breakfast was very good (not as good as a full English you understand but very good for Europe) and the bar staff and restaurant staff were welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We consider ourselves lucky that you spontaniously picked our hotel to try it out. Much appreciated! Good to hear that you considered your random choice very satisfactory. We hope that we can be your host again when you attend your next concert in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed over last weekend for the 3th time in this hotel within 24 months.
The location is great and we like the atmosphere in the hotel. Although rooms and furniture is slightly dated, it's clean and has everything you may expect in a city hotel.
At front desk the team is very nice and understands hospitality. This in contrast with the bar tenders. Although the atmosphere in the bar is nice, we decided not coming back because of the unpleasant attitude of the bartender - very arrogant and believes he is king of swing... He works already for a few years at this place but it's clear he has his preferences for certain guests.

Overall we will come back to this place for staying over, but will limit the visits to the bar as long as this bartender will work at this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review. Your constructive comments shall be used to improve the aspects mentioned by you. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at the American 2-6 March. We had a room on the 5th floor; once we turned up the radiator is was lovely and warm. Room and bathroom were on the small side but functional and had everything we needed. We had a balcony but unfortunately not much of a view. Price included breakfast which was amazing; loads of choice and omelettes/eggs cooked to order and the most delicious pastries.
Had a fabulous cocktail in the bar each night; the staff were so friendly and helpful even making a cocktail to order.
Staff on the front desk were always helpful with information on Amsterdam and handy we could leave our luggage on the last day.
Found a lovely restaurant just past Pathe City called In De Buurt which we went to twice; small menu but varied and food was excellent.
This is a beautiful art deco hotel in a great location and well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It is very rewarding for the team to hear that you had such a satisfactory visit to Amsterdam and the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good:
This hotel is close to all the nightlife.
Parking at the front of the hotel (if you can get a space)
Bad:
You can hear people talking in the next room or across the hall. Not sure what they made the walls from? If you are a light sleeper expect to be woken up when anyone moves about in other rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. A 112-year old building brings a lot of charm, however, sometimes has characteristics that differ from todays standards. Unfortunately, slightly less soundproof walls is one of these aspects. We hope that it did not affect your stay too much. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Location excellent. Room size good but bathroom too small. Furnishings rather dated but decent. Room had a mouldy kind of smell and had to open windows to allow for fresh air. Overall cleanliness was decent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We shall investigate the cause of an undesired odeur in your room. Thank you for the feedback. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#80 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#58 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.