We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good:
This hotel is close to all the nightlife.
Parking at the front of the hotel (if you can get a space)
Bad:
You can hear people talking in the next room or across the hall. Not sure what they made the walls from? If you are a light sleeper expect to be woken up when anyone moves about in other rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. A 112-year old building brings a lot of charm, however, sometimes has characteristics that differ from todays standards. Unfortunately, slightly less soundproof walls is one of these aspects. We hope that it did not affect your stay too much. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    621
    220
    88
    42
See reviews for
139
643
108
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Location excellent. Room size good but bathroom too small. Furnishings rather dated but decent. Room had a mouldy kind of smell and had to open windows to allow for fresh air. Overall cleanliness was decent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We shall investigate the cause of an undesired odeur in your room. Thank you for the feedback. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, ideal for getting out and about this lovely city. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful and this remained throughout our stay, whenever there was a need to raise a query or ask for an umbrella!. Our room was good, plenty of room, clean and warm, with a lovely view out to the canal. We stayed Tues – Fri, so outside was quiet and we were not disturbed by any outside noise. The bar in the hotel is fantastic and a real throw back, a visit to it is a must. The internet facilities were good and there was a small gym if you feel the need. If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, with no fuss and a great location, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that you found our product and services very befitting for your visit. It encourages our team to make even exceed your expectations upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very clean, staff friendly and helpful, main thing is very good location tram 1 2 and 5 can get here easily, no swimming pool or spa but overall is very good hotel, you get what you pay for. I would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review posting. It is good to hear that you consider our product and services to be the right value for money. It is our ambition to next time even exceed your expectations. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The beds were huge and comfy, food and drink was excellent and the staff were the friendliest people I've ever had the pleasure to encounter on holiday. This hotel is also located in a perfect place for exploring Amsterdam and the 197 bus from the airport stops right outside. I'd highly recommend the Amsterdam American Hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that we were able to make your stay most comfortable and satisfactory. We hope to be able to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here in January for a long weekend (wedding anniversary) and had a very pleasant experience. It's the second time we've stayed here and last time we had a room with a canal view but this time we were at the top facing inwards, however the room was bigger. No complaints about decoration, the bed, facilities and the heating was fine, We had to ask for dressing gowns (free) but they were provided straight away. I don't think anyone has mentioned it but the hotel has four PCs available (free) with printers for guests. Very useful for online confirmation of the return flight.
Leidseplein for us is the best area to stay in Amsterdam. It's only a short walk into the old city area in one direction, and very close to the big Art Museums in another. I also like having the entrance to Vondel Park just across the road. If you stay here then you must try eating in the beautiful Art Nouveau restaurant. I would recommend the regular Jazz lunches on Sunday. Two excellent musicians playing live, plus buffet style lunch.
We arrived at the hotel early which wasn't a problem as they have a room for storing luggage. Similarly the day we checked out we were able to keep our luggage in the hotel until the taxi arrived to take us to the airport.

We recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

Room Tip: I would say a room on the canal side is nicer. Quiet & you can watch the ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visit and your review posting. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Amsterdam and our hotel so much. We hope to be able welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel mid october 2013,a great hotel location is near every thing ,clubs resturants ,wlaking distance from the casino .
the rooms are clean,but make sure to get a room with balconey ,my freind got a room with out a balconey and was small and then he was upgraded to the new furnished rooms .
the staff is freindly and with good knwoledge about the area

Room Tip: room with a balconey on the canal,away from the noise ,and wider
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that the services provided did meet your expectations. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.