We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Amsterdam home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Marbella, Spain
1 review
“My Amsterdam home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My business has brought me through Amsterdam several times a year since 2001. I cannot say enough good things. The staff has primarily remained the same. So many of the staff members remember my name and greet me when I arrive as well as during my stay there. My rooms are upgraded often, great bar, restaurant. It is an absolutely beautiful building in a prime location! I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I have even contacted them in the past when online reservations told me there was not availability for my dates and they manged to find me a room nevertheless. It is my Amsterdam home - and the restaurant CASTEL, down the street is excellent as well!

Room Tip: Alwasy say you are 2 guests, same rate, bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review posting and frequent visits. Your encouraging remarks are an absolute motivation to keep working on product and services. In order to keep matching, and hopefully, exceeding expectations. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    564
    198
    81
    39
See reviews for
125
579
100
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Fell in love with the beautiful architecture and great food in the restaurant when visiting Amsterdam on day trips. So this hotel was a natural choice for a special weekend away. Food and service met my high expectations, but the rooms are really tired. It feels like a bad motel. I think there are sections of the hotel that have been updated, so make very sure that you book one of the renovated rooms. Also, the hotel has no parking, so bear that in mind when you plan your trip. Parking in Amsterdam is extortionate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Indeed the less temporary rooms are scheduled for renovation in the first half year of 2014. We hope to see you back to witness the improvements. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very nice room clean & comfortable. great view of a canal.
Excellent location easy walk/bike to lots of great places. Staff was courteous and helpful. Very accommodating to my inability to speak Dutch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review posting. With the name American Hotel, it goes without saying that our staff can communicate in English with you. We are glad that this was helpful for you. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you want a degree of comfort and need to sat in a convenient location in Amsterdam, look no further than this hotel. I have stayed many times and the staff are always helpful, smiling and friendly. The bus from the airport stops on the adjacent road and check in was hassle free. I didn't eat at the hotel; the restaurant seemed busy with private functions including a TV show, but there are lots of good eateries close by. Matilda on reception was very helpful...particularly when I asked her to see if I had left something in my room. She did a great job...Free WiFi, clean rooms in a hotel that retains some of its old charm and character...and the rooms are quite spacious - not always the case in Amsterdam. Will I return? ..Of course!

Room Tip: Talk to the friendly reception staff who will always try to please....but rooms overlooking the cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your frequent visits and review posting. We look forward to welcoming you back. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

this has over a period of 20 plus years been one of my favourite hotels, i love its art deco charm and in particular the wonderful dining / bar area with its huge windows on to the square and fabulous stained glass windows. last time i stayed here it was 2 years ago in the middle of a record cold snap, 20 minus, and i spent most of the time writing a story at the historic writing desk, wood with leather inlay, old fashioned light fittings, pretending to be hemingway in the 20s. i'm back in the hotel, and that desk has been cut in half and the remains hidden in a corner, and one whole panel of the glass windows hidden behind a modern graphic of exceptional banality. what on earth are they doing to this beautiful place?? ps. you can't smoke a cigar in the side bar any more and they won't let you take a cup of coffee out to the tables on the square...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your frequent and loyal visits over the years and your review posting. Smoking in hotels, bars & restaurants nowadays is prohibited throughout The Netherlands. In the winter we are not allowed to serve outside because it is then regarded as a terrace. The decor in the restaurant is because of a daily live talkshow broadcasted from there. That will not be a permanent situation. And then the leather reading table shall return to its original spot in the Café Americain. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great location, very clean, ample sized room overlooking the canal. We originally had a reservation in a renovated room on the first floor (one level up from the lobby), but opted for a non-renovated room on the 5th floor and it did not disappoint. We had arrived at the hotel early in the day and our room was not ready so that is why we chose the non-renovated room on the 5th floor. The American Bar in the hotel was a comfortable place for our late night drink after dinner in the city. The location was close to many places for a short walk and thr tram was out the front door.

Room Tip: During high season, I would recommend a room on an upper floor to avoid street nose at night. Not q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to hear that you had such a pleaant stay. We hope to see you again. With best regars,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is right at leidseplein square, a fantastic location close to everything. The service was good, the bar looked pretty cool.

Roomwise: The suites were good sized, however... The renovated suites are seemingly all two level with bed up top and bathroom below; a pain when making bathroom trips in the night. & The older suites are one floor, but need a makeover badly.

Room Tip: Some of the suites are two level. Make sure you inquire about what you are getting if you have a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank your for your stay and your review posting. Actually only two of our suites are duplex suites. All other 173 rooms are on one level. The less contemporary rooms are scheduled for renovation. Please inquire what type of room you prefer with your next booking. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.