We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the philistines are at the door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, Amsterdam 1017 PN, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the philistines are at the door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

this has over a period of 20 plus years been one of my favourite hotels, i love its art deco charm and in particular the wonderful dining / bar area with its huge windows on to the square and fabulous stained glass windows. last time i stayed here it was 2 years ago in the middle of a record cold snap, 20 minus, and i spent most of the time writing a story at the historic writing desk, wood with leather inlay, old fashioned light fittings, pretending to be hemingway in the 20s. i'm back in the hotel, and that desk has been cut in half and the remains hidden in a corner, and one whole panel of the glass windows hidden behind a modern graphic of exceptional banality. what on earth are they doing to this beautiful place?? ps. you can't smoke a cigar in the side bar any more and they won't let you take a cup of coffee out to the tables on the square...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your frequent and loyal visits over the years and your review posting. Smoking in hotels, bars & restaurants nowadays is prohibited throughout The Netherlands. In the winter we are not allowed to serve outside because it is then regarded as a terrace. The decor in the restaurant is because of a daily live talkshow broadcasted from there. That will not be a permanent situation. And then the leather reading table shall return to its original spot in the Café Americain. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    504
    184
    81
    39
See reviews for
98
494
91
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great location, very clean, ample sized room overlooking the canal. We originally had a reservation in a renovated room on the first floor (one level up from the lobby), but opted for a non-renovated room on the 5th floor and it did not disappoint. We had arrived at the hotel early in the day and our room was not ready so that is why we chose the non-renovated room on the 5th floor. The American Bar in the hotel was a comfortable place for our late night drink after dinner in the city. The location was close to many places for a short walk and thr tram was out the front door.

Room Tip: During high season, I would recommend a room on an upper floor to avoid street nose at night. Not q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to hear that you had such a pleaant stay. We hope to see you again. With best regars,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is right at leidseplein square, a fantastic location close to everything. The service was good, the bar looked pretty cool.

Roomwise: The suites were good sized, however... The renovated suites are seemingly all two level with bed up top and bathroom below; a pain when making bathroom trips in the night. & The older suites are one floor, but need a makeover badly.

Room Tip: Some of the suites are two level. Make sure you inquire about what you are getting if you have a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank your for your stay and your review posting. Actually only two of our suites are duplex suites. All other 173 rooms are on one level. The less contemporary rooms are scheduled for renovation. Please inquire what type of room you prefer with your next booking. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Location is great for central Amsterdam, the American Bar is a great place for a drink to relax and service overall is good. Unfortunately the inside of the building is pretty old and dated. Some rooms are in desperate need of updating - rooms are old, tired and some are quite depressing. The room service options and quality is also very poor. The breakfast room and choice is good and the room itself is pretty impressive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review. The less contemporary rooms are indeed scheduled for renovation. Could you maybe inform us what, in your opinion, is missing in our room service offering? Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

As always my stay was a pleasure! I always stay at the Amsterdam American when I am in Amsterdam. It is beautiful, has an interesting history and the staff are always welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect and at 73 years old I can easily walk to the Van Gogh or Reiksmuseum or have a picnic in Vondell Park across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your frequent visits and this review posting. We hope that the recent modifications to our product have increased your comfort even more and hope to see you again later in the year. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel looks great from the outside with its historical character. The restaurant looks great from the inside and one can have breakfast or dinner looking on a typical Amsterdam building.
The service and staff are very nice and helpful. The breakfast is reasonable and all taste very well. It's not an oh my god experience but it's good. You can ask for fried eggs and stuff. The coffee is good too:)

I had a small room with a balcony looking direction leidse plein. The room was small but nice. Bed very good and I slept very well.
The only thing that disturb me a lot was that the housekeeping didn't clean very well. There were several black hairs lying around and I'm a blond.... That's so gross to me. A no go...
Other then that, very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. Our apologies for the omission in housekeeping. We hope to be able to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We only slept here, we had no breakfast, but it felt like sleeping in my own bed. Need I say more? So the bed was very comfortable, the location is perfect (in the centre of Amsterdam) but without the noise. I can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are happy to hear that our hotel was a "home-away-from-home". We hope to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsekade 97, Amsterdam 1017 PN, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.