We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel..awful rooms....awful smell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dallas, Texas, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful hotel..awful rooms....awful smell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My smelled of clorine, obviously to mask the pot smoke wafting in and out of rooms. It caused me to gag and choke. I asked management to release from my reservations for health reasons. They denied my request and made me pay for a half a day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your intention to stay with us and your review. The smells described by you, were not noticed by anybody else. We have a strict non-smoking policy. Some odeurs can enter the building from the outside. Especially into the lobby with its automatic sliding doors. We understood that your premature departure was settled with your full consent. Since you did not stay in the hotel, your descriptions are not based on your hotel experience. Therefore, your review leaves us somewhat puzzled. Hopefully you can elaborate on your experience. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    553
    198
    84
    40
See reviews for
114
542
95
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good central location but it's definitely seen better days. The rooms are a good size and clean but the amenities are basic.

The decor of the rooms is dated, it looks like it is stuck in the late 80s or early 90s.

The service at the hotel is good and the staff are very professional and friendly. When I checked out I got a 'go bag' with a drink and snack. This was a nice touch and the hotel has several of these nice additions. Without these it would be pretty basic.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The rooms with a slightly dated decor are up for renovation in 2014. We hope to be able to welcome you back again to witness the improvements. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, the first being 10 years ago. Things have certainly changed. With hindsight it would have been better to have paid for an upgraded room, ours was very tired and shabby.

Their attitude to guests really needs an overhaul. This was a special birthday trip, and unbeknown to me, my husband emailed the hotel a week before our trip asking if possible to have a quiet room overlooking the canal. He was quite prepared to pay extra. The email went unanswered. Our room was quiet though it overlooked the inner yard and was very gloomy.

Also unbeknown to me our daughter had contacted the hotel a month in advance to arrange flowers and champagne for my birthday. Many emails went unanswered, in the end she had to telephone to arrange this. My daughter travels a lot, is used to staying in excellent hotels and says that she has never encountered a worse hotel to deal with.

The flowers and champagne did arrive, a day early, and the champagne she had paid for was in fact prosecco.

The front of house staff were adequate, not particularly friendly. The waiting staff were very mixed in their attitude, one waiter always looked offended if you asked him anything.

On the plus side the concierge was exceptionally helpful and very friendly, as were the chambermaids.

We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: 5th floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Our apologies for apparent internal miscommunication regarding the specifics of your booking. Would you be able to contact us to sort things out? Thank you very much. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed In this hotel 5 times in 5 years and love everything about it.room 126 is great with awesome views and balcony.the breakfast is unbelievable.worth every penny for the freshest pastries and cheeses around.the night staff are just to nice special mention of Mustafa who was very helpful throughout my stay.
Ken at front desk however was very unaccommodating ,stiff and unfriendly and didn't leave me with my usual impression.
Overall still my favourite hotel in amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most recent and other frequent visits, as well as your review posting. We are glad that you appreciate the hotel so much and shall continue to work on having the usual accomodating service provided by all employees. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay at this conveniently located hotel. Very close to the Rijks and Van Gogh museums and right on the Leidseplein. The hotel is older but well kept and very clean. The deluxe room was large overlooking the canal but the bathroom was very small and dimly lit. Free Internet, onsit bar and restaurant were a plus. Lots of local shopping and restaurants. The concierges were very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was below average so we ate elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy to notice that you had such a pleasant time in Amsterdam and our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Standard rooms are a bit small and the shower in our room lacked sufficient water pressure ( on the fifth floor). These are small con's compared to the pro's: hotel is situated on the best thinkable location in Amsterdam. Almost streight on the Leidseplein where it all happens.
Breakfast is extensive , freshly baked omelets, good coffee, fruit and even champagne should you crave for alcohol that early in the day. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. Very rewarding to hear that you estimate the product and service so much. Concerning the water pressure: to comply with the environmental certificate "Green Key Gold" , a certain water pressure criterium has to be met. With the current water pressure as a result. We are lobbying to have this harsh criterium loosened up a bit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed many times at this hotel and will always go back when in Amsterdam. The room was perfect overlooking the canal and very spacious, the breakfast room is great with lots of choice. The service from all staff was great and couldn't ask for more. I have already booked again for new year eve. Thanks you for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and yet another visit. Good to know that your stay was very satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you next New Year's Eve! With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.