We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
brechin scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location for trams, buses etc. Hotel very nice but rooms very dated our first room was nice with a small balcony but after going away for a night to Germany and coming back for another 2 nights we were given a different room which was not good. After spending a lot of money for the first two nights we thought our room for the next two nights when we came back would be just as nice or if not better than the room before but it was not. Very chlaustrophobic with a small window which overlooked the roof, certainly not worth what we paid I don't think. As we were only there for a short time we didn't ask to change but if it had been any longer I would have asked for a different room. Amsterdam is way overpriced accommodation wise in general so maybe you have to pay a lot to get a lot in return. Would probably stay there again as it was clean and in a nice area. I have to say reception staff wereexcellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visits and your review posting. Several dated rooms are up for renovation. The room type upon your second visit is the quitest available. For guests that prefer a minimum of noise over a city/canal view. By stating your preference, maximum effort will be displayed to accomodate you in a room of your preference. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    553
    198
    84
    40
See reviews for
114
542
95
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff did their best, but despite prebooking supposedly quiet rooms, my second disturbed night at this hotel. Poor in room lighting and a very springy bed don't add to the ambience, but the noise is pretty dreadful. As I was there for business, my needs were small but a good night's sleep was one of them. Heavy metal concert and tram noise anyone?

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quiet room. It won't be quiet but at least not deafening. Side canal or court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting. As mentioned to other reviewers, our very location is the most vibrant and dynamic of the whole city. Basically, this part of the city never sleeps. Let us arrange a guaranteed inner courtyard room or high floor canal view room for your next visit so that you will experience the difference. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was on the first floor overlooking the restaurant and the noise was constant throughout the evening and the night. Trams and people shouting kept me awake and made it a very uncomfortable stay. The room was also poorly lit despite having all the lights on. The staff were pleasant but could not in all honesty recommend it for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the trams and I would think higher up would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Being situated in the absolute pinnacle of the city, it can indeed be noisy outside. For quiter rooms, please ask for higher situated rooms with canal view or inner courtyard rooms. in some cases a supplement might apply. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, beautiful hotel, the room we had was clean, comfortable and plenty of room to move. The only downside was that it was noisy....the trams were going non stop and there never seemed to be any peace and quiet...other than that highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Unfortunately, even our double windows can not block all sounds of the city at the vibrant Leidseplein. It is the busiest point in Amsterdam centre! Please ask for the quiter inner courtyard rooms upon your next visit. The view is of course limited but noise is reduced to a minimum. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

been wanting to try out this hotel since a while now, so this trip i finally did and it was strictly average.

the location is just perfect but the hotel is nothing to write home about in terms of service and rooms. infact my entire floor had this awful smell for all the 3 days that i was there.

the room was basic. maybe the rooms with the canal view must be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review with constructive comments, Could you inform us on which floor you were allocated and which room number? Then we can investigate where the odeur was coming from, our building, outside, neighbours etc. We do apologise for the inconvenience. Upon your next visit, the dated rooms might be renovated already, otherwise we shall arrange for a canal view room. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! Right next to Leidesplein for every type of food possible and loads of bars! It's also right on a tram route taking you to the centraal station. Rooms are nice, big and en suites good. All in all great value, would definitely recommend to all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautiful building and, having stayed here before, I know some of the rooms (overlooking the canal) are very pretty. The one we were given was not. Nothing wrong with it, just a bog standard modern hotel room with a pretty rubbish view

It was clean, efficient and there were no real gripes.

It's in a lovely spot on plenty of tram routes to the station and Dam Place etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for another stay at the hotel and for your review posting. Pictures indeed can never reflect all room types and decors. The room allocated to you is favorite with guests that prefer the quitest room possible. At our vibrant location, this are the inner courtyard rooms. Please state your preference upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.