We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, beautiful hotel, the room we had was clean, comfortable and plenty of room to move. The only downside was that it was noisy....the trams were going non stop and there never seemed to be any peace and quiet...other than that highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Unfortunately, even our double windows can not block all sounds of the city at the vibrant Leidseplein. It is the busiest point in Amsterdam centre! Please ask for the quiter inner courtyard rooms upon your next visit. The view is of course limited but noise is reduced to a minimum. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    745
    254
    100
    46
See reviews for
176
794
119
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bombay India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

been wanting to try out this hotel since a while now, so this trip i finally did and it was strictly average.

the location is just perfect but the hotel is nothing to write home about in terms of service and rooms. infact my entire floor had this awful smell for all the 3 days that i was there.

the room was basic. maybe the rooms with the canal view must be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review with constructive comments, Could you inform us on which floor you were allocated and which room number? Then we can investigate where the odeur was coming from, our building, outside, neighbours etc. We do apologise for the inconvenience. Upon your next visit, the dated rooms might be renovated already, otherwise we shall arrange for a canal view room. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! Right next to Leidesplein for every type of food possible and loads of bars! It's also right on a tram route taking you to the centraal station. Rooms are nice, big and en suites good. All in all great value, would definitely recommend to all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautiful building and, having stayed here before, I know some of the rooms (overlooking the canal) are very pretty. The one we were given was not. Nothing wrong with it, just a bog standard modern hotel room with a pretty rubbish view

It was clean, efficient and there were no real gripes.

It's in a lovely spot on plenty of tram routes to the station and Dam Place etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for another stay at the hotel and for your review posting. Pictures indeed can never reflect all room types and decors. The room allocated to you is favorite with guests that prefer the quitest room possible. At our vibrant location, this are the inner courtyard rooms. Please state your preference upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a very good stay at the American. Quite different that my last stay and review. As I've said before, something about my experience at this hotel seems to always go the way check in goes. I emailed ahead of time that I hope that an early check in will be available for me. My flight was quite delayed, so I only got there about 45 minutes before the posted check in time. I got to the front desk, asked if I can check in. After a pause, looking at the computer and a card file, I was reminded check in time was 3pm (it was 2:15), and that my room was ready. That was nice of them to let me in...In my mind, the rooms at the American with a balcony over looking the canal cannot be beat for scenery and ambiance. The first thing I did was turn the air conditioning on full blast as it was July, the room was hot; and I needed to make sure before I cracked a bag open that it was working. I checked out the beautiful view, relaxed, and; the air was working fine! I like that the hotel has 24 hour room service. The late night menu is fine, and the fact that you can order a beer at any hour of the day is nice. This is the first year in many that William did not deliver anything when I ordered late. The concierge/bellman I have seen every year as long as I can remember. They cheerfully answer the same question that I ask every year as if it was the first time that they have been asked by anyone; "how do I get to Haarlem from here". The free internet is kind of slow; but it is free. I did not use the pay version, so I can't say how that is. Last year I had to get a card from the front desk that had a code to punch in to use the internet. During several of my days they were out of the 24 hour cards, and only had 1 hour cards, so I had to keep logging on going through the entire process. This year you do not need the cards, you just log in once for the day, and you are set, a nice improvement. I did not stop at the Café, but did at Bar Americain. The service was good, and got a nice recommendation on food. This was a nice stay, and I hope that my next will be just as good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for re-trying us and your review. It was much appreciated that you did make the effort book us agin to experience the comprehensive modifications that were carried out to our air-conditioning system. Right on time for the hot summer we had. Of course it is our goal to make all your future visits as satisfactory as this one. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved this hotel. Could not fault the service from the very friendly staff, the rooms was large and clean. Fab decor and much more character than the generic chain hotels.
We got a taxi from the train station but walked everywhere once we'd got our bearings. The hotel was perfect location for the sights and there's lots of bars and restaurants nearby for the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are proud that the character of the hotel was acknowledged and appreicated so much. This is a real motivation for the entire team to continue to radiate the right charm and service. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good, traditional hotel in an old building (once a castle?). Renovated with care. Situation next to Leideplein, which is the hub of theatres, cinemas etc. Rooms are of medium size, very clean. We took room facing inner yard, as we wanted aquiet room. There was no view but we could not hear any noise from the streets nor canals and slept very well indeed.

Room Tip: As mentioned earlier: if you want to have a good night's sleep, take a room facing inner yard. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and your visit. Although the building indeed has some charasteristics of a castle, it was build as a hotel 111 years ago. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#80 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.