We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, beautiful hotel, the room we had was clean, comfortable and plenty of room to move. The only downside was that it was noisy....the trams were going non stop and there never seemed to be any peace and quiet...other than that highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Unfortunately, even our double windows can not block all sounds of the city at the vibrant Leidseplein. It is the busiest point in Amsterdam centre! Please ask for the quiter inner courtyard rooms upon your next visit. The view is of course limited but noise is reduced to a minimum. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    553
    198
    84
    40
See reviews for
114
542
95
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bombay India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

been wanting to try out this hotel since a while now, so this trip i finally did and it was strictly average.

the location is just perfect but the hotel is nothing to write home about in terms of service and rooms. infact my entire floor had this awful smell for all the 3 days that i was there.

the room was basic. maybe the rooms with the canal view must be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review with constructive comments, Could you inform us on which floor you were allocated and which room number? Then we can investigate where the odeur was coming from, our building, outside, neighbours etc. We do apologise for the inconvenience. Upon your next visit, the dated rooms might be renovated already, otherwise we shall arrange for a canal view room. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! Right next to Leidesplein for every type of food possible and loads of bars! It's also right on a tram route taking you to the centraal station. Rooms are nice, big and en suites good. All in all great value, would definitely recommend to all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautiful building and, having stayed here before, I know some of the rooms (overlooking the canal) are very pretty. The one we were given was not. Nothing wrong with it, just a bog standard modern hotel room with a pretty rubbish view

It was clean, efficient and there were no real gripes.

It's in a lovely spot on plenty of tram routes to the station and Dam Place etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for another stay at the hotel and for your review posting. Pictures indeed can never reflect all room types and decors. The room allocated to you is favorite with guests that prefer the quitest room possible. At our vibrant location, this are the inner courtyard rooms. Please state your preference upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a very good stay at the American. Quite different that my last stay and review. As I've said before, something about my experience at this hotel seems to always go the way check in goes. I emailed ahead of time that I hope that an early check in will be available for me. My flight was quite delayed, so I only got there about 45 minutes before the posted check in time. I got to the front desk, asked if I can check in. After a pause, looking at the computer and a card file, I was reminded check in time was 3pm (it was 2:15), and that my room was ready. That was nice of them to let me in...In my mind, the rooms at the American with a balcony over looking the canal cannot be beat for scenery and ambiance. The first thing I did was turn the air conditioning on full blast as it was July, the room was hot; and I needed to make sure before I cracked a bag open that it was working. I checked out the beautiful view, relaxed, and; the air was working fine! I like that the hotel has 24 hour room service. The late night menu is fine, and the fact that you can order a beer at any hour of the day is nice. This is the first year in many that William did not deliver anything when I ordered late. The concierge/bellman I have seen every year as long as I can remember. They cheerfully answer the same question that I ask every year as if it was the first time that they have been asked by anyone; "how do I get to Haarlem from here". The free internet is kind of slow; but it is free. I did not use the pay version, so I can't say how that is. Last year I had to get a card from the front desk that had a code to punch in to use the internet. During several of my days they were out of the 24 hour cards, and only had 1 hour cards, so I had to keep logging on going through the entire process. This year you do not need the cards, you just log in once for the day, and you are set, a nice improvement. I did not stop at the Café, but did at Bar Americain. The service was good, and got a nice recommendation on food. This was a nice stay, and I hope that my next will be just as good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for re-trying us and your review. It was much appreciated that you did make the effort book us agin to experience the comprehensive modifications that were carried out to our air-conditioning system. Right on time for the hot summer we had. Of course it is our goal to make all your future visits as satisfactory as this one. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Could not fault the service from the very friendly staff, the rooms was large and clean. Fab decor and much more character than the generic chain hotels.
We got a taxi from the train station but walked everywhere once we'd got our bearings. The hotel was perfect location for the sights and there's lots of bars and restaurants nearby for the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are proud that the character of the hotel was acknowledged and appreicated so much. This is a real motivation for the entire team to continue to radiate the right charm and service. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good, traditional hotel in an old building (once a castle?). Renovated with care. Situation next to Leideplein, which is the hub of theatres, cinemas etc. Rooms are of medium size, very clean. We took room facing inner yard, as we wanted aquiet room. There was no view but we could not hear any noise from the streets nor canals and slept very well indeed.

Room Tip: As mentioned earlier: if you want to have a good night's sleep, take a room facing inner yard. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and your visit. Although the building indeed has some charasteristics of a castle, it was build as a hotel 111 years ago. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.