We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Lillestrom, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is has the City theater and the Bellevue theater as neighbors and just a short walk to find bus or the tram line. Outside the main entrance you will find a canal and one of the many boat stops for sightseeing.
The hotel is old and there are a wide range of different rooms and stairways to the rooms. Some of the rooms are on the same level as an elevator, but not all of them. If you have problems with stairs advice the hotel up front. They will do their best to help you.
We met a helpful and smiling service at the reception. The concierge doubled as a bellboy and our suitcases came pretty fast to our room.
Our room was on the 4 floor on the corner facing Leidseplein and the city theater. Please be aware that this also is a bit noisy. The tramway almost runs 24 hours a day and especially often in the early morning bringing the commuters to their jobs. It is possible, but not recommended to sleep with an open window.
Cleaning was as good as expected. The maid was also making sure that you was the right person to enter the room if you tested her. I liked that.
Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. The cost was aprox 15,50 euros when ordered and payed up front at the reception and 4,- euros extra if you just turned up. The restaurant and the bar where popular and had a decent service.
A taxi from the airport was aprox 40,- euros (August 2013).
We where 8 persons in 4 rooms and had a good offer for the price. To just by a full price room seams expensive, but so are Amsterdam hotels. For a private person I would recommend to consider a hotel outside the city limits even though this location was nice and close nough to several interesting sights.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal is quieter than rooms facing Leidseplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your detailed review> A review that describes the hotel and its services in a manner that is hopefully useful for travellers that are looking for the most befitting accomodation in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    544
    193
    80
    39
See reviews for
120
559
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited this hotel for a weekend in august. I found the staff very helpful and it was also close to vondel park and the van gogh museum. One evening we had dinner at the cafe american which was very good food. The hotel is not cheap but i would highly recommend it to any one who wants to spend a romantic weekend in amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to hear that Amsterdam and the hotel provided the right decor and service to make your stay as romantic as you had hoped it to be. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and the rooms are spacious and lovely. My husband and I are thankful that we splurged on our stay here! Big, comfy bed and the breakfast was a good value. Hopefully we'll get to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We too hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel..got a very good rate and the location was excellent. Just right across Leidsplein N when you are in Amsterdam that's where you want to be...staff was friendly and the room was very nice and very well maintened. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam :)


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay and your review. We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having seen the somewhat variable reviews on tripadvisor was nervous about booking this hotel but decided to go ahead as our friends visiting from Bali were already booked to stay. On arrival we were very quickly registered and our room proved to be spacious and clean. The location of the hotel is fantastic being close to the museums, nightlife and pretty much everything that is going on in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to know that you feel you made the right choice by making the Amsterdam American Hotel your point of residence whilst staying in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having stayed in the Leidseplein area several times we decided to finally stay at the American Hotel after having passed it on countless occasions. We were very happy with how comfortable the rooms were. This didn't strike us as a typical Amsterdam hotel as the rooms were larger and the stairs were not long, steep and winding, which was a bonus.

The main selling point for us was the location. The square has loads of bars and restaurants and the Vondelpark is just around the corner. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had a great romantic weekend in amsterdam together with my wife thanks to the Amsterdam American hotel.
The hotel is fantastic located in the centrum off Amsterdam and all is on walking distance or going by tram.
We had a wonderful big room with a terrace, the rooms are big and clean the bathroom is normal standard.
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast was perfect we got our breakfast in the room so very enjoyable in morning.
Dinner ?
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend in Amsterdam for couples or with family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that your stay in Amsterdam resulted in the romantic getaway that you had planned and that our hotel contributed to that. We hope to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.