We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend in a splendid hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, Amsterdam 1017 PN, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Rauma, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend in a splendid hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had a great romantic weekend in amsterdam together with my wife thanks to the Amsterdam American hotel.
The hotel is fantastic located in the centrum off Amsterdam and all is on walking distance or going by tram.
We had a wonderful big room with a terrace, the rooms are big and clean the bathroom is normal standard.
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast was perfect we got our breakfast in the room so very enjoyable in morning.
Dinner ?
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend in Amsterdam for couples or with family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that your stay in Amsterdam resulted in the romantic getaway that you had planned and that our hotel contributed to that. We hope to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    549
    194
    84
    40
See reviews for
111
535
95
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic location for a number of reasons:
- directly outside the tram stop that brought us to and from the airport
- multiple tram stops to take you to opposite ends of the city
- not inside the red-light district, but walking distance to see and experience it
- excellent location for walking to museums and other must see's
- right on the canal, across from a rental site where you can rent pedal-pusher boats and tour the city via the water... WAY better than the paid guided tours!!
- hotel was old but re-furbished... much larger room than expected (large enough for 2 adults in 2 beds with space for suitcases and moving about)
- all staff spoke English and were kind and willing to help us find our way around
- free internet in the upstairs lobby, including free computers where you can print off maps and other informatio

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your posting. Your review reads as a good summary of all the offerings available to help first-time travellers to Amsterdam. We hope to see you back. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We would gladly stay here again. Our room was large - especially for a European hotel. Location was ideal; we were a 10 minute walk from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Trams and buses all stopped across the street. You can get there easily from the airport taking the bus. Restaurant was beautiful we didn't eat there as it was a bit pricey. Just ask for a room facing the canal as we suspect rooms facing the square would be noisy, especially in the summer. Desk staff was always pleasant and the concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The header of your review sums up in two words the exact reason of the existence of the hotel: exceeding expectations! We always strive to reach that goal. We are glad that we succeeded in your opinion. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Quiet. Good staff. Large rooms, especially by European standards. Great location. Excellent restaurant. Walking distance to museums. Helpful staff for recommendations. Less than 1 mile to most of Amsterdam locations

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your to-the-point description of the hotel. We think and hope that it is useful for other travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been in Amsterdam several time and usually either rent an apartment or stay in some type of Canal House. Due to travelling at a very busy time of year for Amsterdam (June) had to do some digging to find a hotel for the dates I needed. The Amsterdam American has a good location (very busy traffic circle) near all of the major museums and a quick tram ride to everything else. When we checked in the staff was very professional and asked if I would mind taking a handicapped accessible room. The room was very spacious, had a terrace and overlooked the fountains. Very nice though the furnishings were a bit worn. The price though was very reasonable for this type of hotel and in this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. We are honoured that you deemed our hotel the right choice for an Amsterdam visit. We hope that you will choose us again in the nearby future! With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very comfortable and wonderful hotel. Great breakfast restaurant, wonderfully central location. The best thing about the hotel is its Concierge. Very, very helpful, friendly, gracious and knowledgeable. Tip him well if you use his services because he deserves it. Internet is free but if you want speed and multiple devices pay to get the premium service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your stay. It gives us great pleasure that we managed to provide you the service that you had hoped for. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a great location to the nightlife scene around Leidseplein. The rooms are small
and the restaurant pricey. Staff seemed pleasant enough. Hotel was clean. But as far as the price of the rooms, your paying for location.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Leidseplein square have great view, but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. The less contemporary room type that you were accomodated in is up for renovation in the nearby future. We hope that you will visit us again next year to experience the results. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, Amsterdam 1017 PN, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.