We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel and even better from the last time. I requested a room overlooking the canal as we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversity. To our surprise and delight we were upgraded to an executive room on the mezzanine floor and also there was a voucher for complimentary drinks in the bar left in our room. This was a lovely gesture we found the staff very polite friendly and helpful the food in the hotel is lovely and it is so pleasant to eat on the terrace behind the fountain outside.
The bus stop which takes u direct to the airport is right outside the hotel and museums restaurants and shops are all within short walking distance. On leaving the hotel the receptionist also asked if we had enjoyed our anniversary weekend a nice ending to our perfect weekend Thank u to all the staff and hotel management for your kindness to us we will be back next year to see u all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    566
    201
    83
    39
See reviews for
127
587
101
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Several years ago, we stayed at the Marriott Hotel in Leidseplein for a few days. When we decided to return to Amsterdam this time, we called the Marriott again, but the price for all rooms, including the basic/ standard rooms was exorbitant! So we ended up at the American Hampshire Hotel, literally across the street from that same Marriott, and could not have been happier about our choice. We probably ended up paying half to 2/3 of what the Marriott would have costed us, for a much larger and spacious room, an old grand hotel with character and beautifully decorated, and very similar courteous service as the Marriott. The location is central to just about everything and everywhere in Amsterdam!
We very highly recommend this hotel when you visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A wonderful hotel nestled in the Leidensplein social attraction area with restaurants and pubs just nearby but far enough away not to impact your sleep and view of the beautiful canal. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with the conceirge offerring great advice on local markets and best canal cruises. The room was spacious and we asked for a top floor facing the canal and this was granted to us making the evening lookout all the more enjoyable. The restaurant offerred a wonderful full breakfast in an elegant setting with lots of choices for breakfast selections and the outside bar provides a wonderful view of the action happening in the square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location of the hotel is great, right next to Leidschenplein with pubs and restaurants around the corner. The room (American Classic) was nice and the beds were good. Because it is an old building and most of the floors are made from wood (I guess) it can be a bit noisy but you will forget all about that when you have breakfast. A great choice of food, 'omelets your style' and for a good start of the day, Prosecco. Definitely one of the best 4* hotels I've visited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was in a prime location, walking distance from most museums, main tourist spots and more restaurants than you can actually go to. Rooms were clean and manageable for my needs. Price was comparable to most hotels in area. Service was good with a great restaurant.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were a family with 3 kids so needed to take 2 roons for 2 nights and didn't want to spend a lot of money just for staying in the center. This hotel indeed waslocated in a place which you must take a tram to the center but this was the only minus i can think of. The hotel is so nice decorated, everything seems clean and new , in this case the pictures didn't lie. highly recommende if you look for something modern and clean but not to pay a lot and taking into account the distance from the center (10 -15 min from Dam - which btw is very dissapointing - dirty and ugly!) this is the the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I felt a need to warn people who rely on decent internet for work -- don't stay here. I'm a photographer who needs to be able to view images/video online. And I need to upload my work at the end of the day. The internet at this hotel is so miserably slow/overburdened you can't even watch a youtube video. Seriously. They need to address this issue ASAP. It's a shame because the location is phenomenal and the rooms are comfortable. But who wants to be cut off from the web during an entire trip?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.