We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We got a suite for 5 nights at this hotel. The location is great, close to everything. The tram runs right beside the hotel and a bus runs from the airport to the square (Leidseplein) right beside the hotel so getting around is really easy. The room was fairly large because it was the suite, with a sofa, chairs, a bay window that opened. We had the canal view which was great. We moved the sofa in front of the window and had a nice spot to relax in-between outings. A coffee maker and tea kettle were provided as well as an assortment of coffee and teas free of extra charge. The bathroom was modern and clean if not small. Staff were very friendly and the concierge was eager to help. Computers and printers are available to print your museum tickets. Wifi was free but slow. Bed was comfortable, pillows were a tad lumpy but not uncomfortable. The hotel is drug free so if you are looking to smoke in your room, this is not the place. Hard to tell if the value was great without staying in other places but I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for canal side room. The view is better and it will be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    744
    254
    100
    46
See reviews for
176
794
119
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the exceptionally friendly staff. Otherwise I wasn't bowled over by it. The receptionist told me that it was an art deco hotel but not much of this had been preserved, or looked after in the last renovation of the lobby area. The lobby is large and should be very impressive but the floor tiles are like in a municipal bathroom and the reception desk and decor are very uninspiring. My room, on the first floor, while perfectly clean and well appointed, was rather small, dark and musty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked into a 4* hotel online and turned up to find something that more resembled a hostel. It was out first trip to Amsterdam and we didn’t know the area at all but after a walk around on the first day we came across this hotel and had a drink in the bar, they had a room available for the three nights we were visiting and we booked immediately. The room was lovely and excellent value for money, the staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast was exceptional. They made what could have been a terrible experience onto a brilliant break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Brilliant! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. The Amsterdam American Hotel has welcomed us on numerous occasions and never disappoints. Fantastic location, quality throughout, warm greetings. And if you're lucky enough to get a balcony (not many hotels in Amsterdam have them) you can get canal and street views. Thanks again for the great room and balcony, just perfect for Queens Day. Can't wait for our next visit.
ps. The beds are great!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business related travel and didn't want to leave. Absolutely delighted. Want to go back with my whole family. Such a European feel, beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Okay, I haven't stayed at this hotel yet. I just booked for 2 nights in May and was unable to see my reservation online due to the special package booked. I reached out to their reservations department and was helped by Samantha.

If Samantha is an example of how this hotel is operated, I cannot wait for my visit.

Helpful and courteous....

They now have alot to live up to as she's set the bar very high.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Great Lication - Clean - Worth To Stay

Really nice & kind stuff...
Free Internet...

I will recomand this hotel and come again...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#79 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#82 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.