We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Americain - Finely situated and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
providence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Hotel Americain - Finely situated and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in May of 2011. This is a fantastic hotel as it is ideally situated in a bustling quarter of the city; leidseplein. If your a young couple that like to experience restaurants, bars and nightlife..this is coming highly recommended. You will have access not only to the hub, but literally outside its doors you can cross the street and board a canal cruise as a dock is right there. Next door, around the corner is also a tourist office and in addition; access to the tram is steps away. If your in the moos for walking - fantastic. Can easily walk to the museums, shops, heiniken experience and Volker Park (very nice experience after winding down status-post a hard night out. A bit a ways from the red light district and anne frank house, but those places are quite easy to get to as well.

Gotta recommend not only for the location but it also definately an architectural jewel, with an interesting history. We were lucky enough to get a really sweet room with a small balcony that overlooks the canal.Not all rooms have it; and not all rooms have a canal view. Most with larger balconies are located at the front of the hotel overlooking their fabulous fountain. The rooms themselves are perfect for those not going to be spending a great deal in them. No real bells and whistles, but clean and spacious enough with a large comfy soft king bed and sitting area. Bathrooms are small, but serve their purpose. There is a small sitting area with a small upholstered couch/chairs and coffee table. Ice/water machines are available in the halls. Internet access however is $$; which was our only real gripe. Large enough flat screen tv. They have a computer area in the hotel and of course that gorgeous well-known art noveau cafe at the 1st level. The Cafe Americain; known for their breakfast/brunches. Concierge very helpful. This hotel is coming highly recommended for young couples looking for a fun amsterdam experience. Would not hestitate to stay here again! Miss you, Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Here at the hotel we aim to do our very best for every guest, and it is our continuous goal to exceed customer expectations. We can only achieve this by listening and reacting to your valuable comments. We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    593
    206
    85
    40
See reviews for
136
603
105
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Eden American is a great hotel. The reception staff are friendly, efficient and relaxed.

Our room was on the 5th floor (541) and had its own balcony which I would imagine would be great during the summer. The bed was lovely and comfortable with great pillows which is always an important factor for me. There was an in-room electronic safe and access to wifi via a voucher which you got from reception. The bathroom was on the snug side but the bath was perfect for a relaxing dip and they had lovely Rituals toiletries. We didn't use the wifi in the room but used the free - yes free - internet access downstairs to sort out our flights.

We stayed for 2 nights but it felt like it was for longer and came home feeling totally refreshed.

I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. We thank you for recommending our hotel to others! Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I just returned from a week's stay at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel. This is a very nice hotel. I was upgraded to canal view room 111 which was very nice. Spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom is quite small, but then again, how much time do you really spend in the loo. The bed was comfortable, great work space, and free wi-fi was a plus. Nice large flat screen TV. I would suggest they add a separate fridge for storing water, snacks, etc. and maybe a microwave.

The staff at the front desk is first rate. They were very attentive to my many questions about the area and how to get to places. They are very knowledgeable, and spoke very good English. If they did not know the answer, they were quick to find somebody who did.

Great location on the Leidesplein, which is close to many shops, restaurants, and museums. The tram is the easiest and most economical way to move about the city. The people are very friendly and willing to help and give directions.

Overall, a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. Will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are a bit larger, provide a nice view, and plenty of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. We thank you for your compliments with regards to our front desk staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I might do a good vs bad here, but honestly i cant remember anything bad in this hotel.

The good:
-very clean
-good location (a bit far from RLD if you are checking that out, 30-40m walk i guess, but stil nice area)
-nice modern decor
-wifi works in your room
-we got a balcony (i think all rooms have them...?) overlooking a canal and the city. very nice...
-helpful polite staff
-clean bathroom

Room Tip: get one with a balcony, they might all have balconies, not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a balcony. Of course you can make a special request for a balcony room, upon availability.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms here for Oct. left it a bit late and was nervous about what I'd be able to find as Amsterdam is notoriously difficult for finding good accommodation at the last minute. This hotel had a special for 3 nights which made it very good value for money. We had 2 rooms overlooking the canal - very quiet for such a central location. The location is fantastic - caught the bus from the airport so even managed to avoid Central Station. We found we could walk everywhere from here. Great bar downstairs, rooms clean, bright and spacious. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent a week at this delightful hotel and were never disappointed by their service and friendlineoss. Located by the Leidesplein area there is much to see and do the moment you walk out the door. Located close to the Museum area we were able to take advantage of the magnificent art the city has to offer. Within three blocks there are dozens of fine restaurnts. One of the great advantages is that their room service menu is perfect for a snack or a full dinner. A perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had an excellent stay and would like to thank you for your kind words for our friendliness and service and our roomservice menu! Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

The actual hotel is quite beautiful, and in an excellent location in the heart of Amsterdam, just off Leidesplein. It is directly next door to the concert hall/theatre, and about 10 mins walk from the museum quarter, about 15 mins walk from the Bloenmarkt (floating flower markets). The rooms are tastefully decorated in an art deco/nouveau style, and the usual amenities: mini bar, electronic safe, tea/coffee making facilities, shower gel, shampoo. No dressing gown, slippers or iron though. Tv has good selection of channels for English speakers; BBC1, BBC2, Animal Planet, MTV, CNN. Our room 119, had a nice walk out balcony with chairs, that overlooked the fountains outside- was a little noisy at night. There are computers available on the mezzanine floor with internet access free of charge and phone chargers for most makes on the desks. And that's about all I can say positive about this hotel as we had a terrible stay....
My partner and I booked a 2 night stay at this hotel through lastminute.com after searching through hundreds of hotels in Amsterdam looking for one that was wheelchair accessible- my partner is disabled. This hotel lists itself as having wheelchair accessible rooms on both it's own website and with lastminute.com. We thoroughly checked this before booking so felt confident to go ahead and book. In the special requests box we requested a wheelchair accessible room, and explained that my partner was wheelchair bound. Upon arriving in Amsterdam, we were horrified to find that the hotel DID NOT have a wheelchair accessible entrance. We were faced with a flight of stairs to the main entrance. I went in and checked at reception for the wheelchair entrance and was informed that the hotel was not wheelchair accessible. I explained to the receptionist-Martha (who was actually very helpful) that we had booked a wheelchair accessible room. She informed me that they do have wheelchair accessible rooms but the hotel is not wheelchair accessible!!! Totally crazy!
After much frantic calling to various people in the hotel she arranged for the concierge and a member of the bar staff, to bring my partner in through the bar entrance and then they would carry my partner up the smaller flight of stairs in the bar! I'm sure anyone reading this can imagine how humiliating this was for my partner. This was to be the plan for our entire stay at the hotel. Upset and tired from traveling, we reluctantly agreed as it seemed we had no other option. We went out and enjoyed the day in Amsterdam, and returned to the hotel. It took the staff 15minutes to let us in through the bar, and that only happened because I banged on the door!
We called lastminute immediately to complain, and try to get moved to a more appropriate accommodation. Lastminute contacted the hotel manager to try and get us moved, but he refused to refund our money, so we were forced to stay for the 2 nights. Very inconsiderate, and selfish attitude. I can't believe they wouldn't let us cancel our stay and move to an accessible hotel.

Later that evening we ate in the restaurant, as we were reluctant to tackle the whole entrance saga thing again. Surprise, surprise no wheelchair access! In order to access the restaurant we had to report to reception, and someone would then take us in the lift to the service entrance.
In the restaurant, the service was appalling. We were sat at the table for 10minutes with no menu, and no drinks. We had to catch a member of the restaurant team and ask them to bring us menus and order drinks. We found the menu had little choice and was really quite pricey: starters approx 16 euros, main course from approx 20 euros. We opted for the 2 course set menu option. My partner went for the fish option and I went for the Roasted Poussin- what a mistake! When it arrived, i cut it open and the centre appeared raw, so I poked a finger in, and it came out with blood on it!. I tried a couple of times to catch a member of staff but had no luck. I decided to not eat it and let the waitress know when she came to clear the plates. When I informed her that it was undercooked, her response was 'that it's meant to be that way'!!!! Obviously not heard of salmonella in Amsterdam. Total bill was 67 euros for 2 courses with 3 glasses of wine, and I had barely touched the main course.
Then we attempted to get back to our room on the 1st floor, and yes you guessed it- another saga. The restaurant manager took us to the service lift and sent us up to the 1st floor. When we stepped out of the lift we were faced with a flight of stairs! It was not accessible straight from the restaurant.
The next night we decided to eat in the bar. Better choice of menu, and nice surroundings. Walls are covered in photos of celebrity visitors to the hotel so quite a nice talking point. In addition to my partner as company, we also had mice! Yes mice. Whilst sat in the bar we watched mice wander into the main area and then scurry back into what looked like a store cupboard. Luckily they don't bother me but if you are not partial to the furry kind then you might want to give the bar a miss, as when another resident reported it to the bar staff, he told her 'yes we do have problem with mice, I will try and catch it if it comes out again' .!!
We hated every minute of staying in this hotel, and the hotel manager did not so much as offer us a complimentary meal or any discount off our final bill, for the humiliation and inconvenience we faced during our stay. Would never stay here again, and would certainly not recommend it.
Needless to say, Eden Hotel group will be receiving a letter from me!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityTrav67, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your time and effort to put your comments on Tripadvisor. The reason that we have not replied before is that we only received your comments through Lastminute.com on 31 October 2011 and were investigating where it went wrong. We are very sorry for your bad experience in our hotel. We can well imagine it must have been extremely uncomfortable for your partner to say the least.

After making our investigations we can comment as follows: On the notification from lastminute.com (their advice on your reservation) it mentions in the special requirements of the booking:
"Wheelchair Accessible room required as wheelchair user". We have indeed reserved the disabled room for you. Many guests often book this room type but these guests are usually still in the position to walk a little bit. Therefore we do have a disabled room available but we are not wheelchair accessible.

Please be informed that this is the first time we have received such a complaint and please be assured we feel quite disturbed about it. We were in the assumption that the websites do mention that we have such a room available with addition information that our hotel has many stairs. We are once again truly sorry that we fell short in providing the services you expected.

Please be assured we have requested our e-commerce manager to double check all websites and remove any information informing guests that we are a suitable hotel for persons in a wheelchair.

I am very sorry to read about the terrible service you and your partner received in our restaurant. This is absolutely unacceptable, and I wish to apologise for our lack of compassion. Please be informed that I have spoken to the Food & Beverage Manager to prevent this form happening again. However, I disagree with regards to the menu prices you mentioned, we serve starters as from € 8.75 and main courses as from € 16.50. Our special theatre menu is a two course menu at € 27.50 per person.

I hereby would like to inform you that we were very surprised and shocked as well that there was a mouse in the bar, and also for the reaction you received from our bar staff. Please be informed that we, in the meanwhile, have contacted a specialised company to prevent this in the future. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. I can confirm that we comply with all the Health & Hygiene Regulations and Standards in the Netherlands.

Again we are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologise for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.