We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic hotel well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
middle england
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Iconic hotel well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

A real jewel in the. Centre of Amsterdam. Oodles of character with an amazing dining room. Food was very good and the beds super comfy. A really good place for museum lovers as it is a short distance from the museum area. Also close to shops if you are that way inclined. Free Internet but you have to get a voucher and keep entering the numbers, a pit of a pian: it was also a little slow. A small moan really.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to share your comments on Tripadvisor. The Eden Amsterdam American Hotel is a more than 100 years old building and the rooms, and our Café Americain, as they are today, are still in the same size as they were built in the year 1900. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    575
    203
    84
    39
See reviews for
129
590
102
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our third trip to Amsterdam and we chose the Eden American for the great location in the Leidseplein and the provided amenities. We love Amsterdam and checked out a number of hotels for this trip.. We had once enjoyed the Bellevue, The Park, and also spent five days on a houseboat. Nothing can compete with the houseboat experience, but the Eden filled our needs for this trip. We had a split agenda arriving for a 2 day stay, heading to Groningen for a night and back to the Eden for one night. We had an early check in to a great room, very spacious, to rest up after our flight. We were able to leave our bags for the night away and returned to an equally lovely room. A friend traveling with us also had one of the beautiful balcony rooms overlooking the city. We were very happy with the service, comfort, location and value. A beautiful hotel. Don'r miss eating at "de balie" a few steps across the square. Our favorite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the stay. considering i only wanted a bed because i was on a bit of a boozy one with my mate i thought the hotel was very good indeed, everything you needed and great service.
will definitely stay again on my next visit with my girlfriend. perfect for couples or if your with a friend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. Looking forward to welcome you back later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel from 19-22 September 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We lived in Amsterdam in the mid 1970s so we know the hotel well and it has always been one of our favorite Amsterdam hotels and cafes. It has been restored and the art deco features are more beautiful than we recall.

We requested a higher level room with a terrace facing the canal and were given just this room which was marvelous! Beautifully appointed and restored room with a contemporary bathroom. We could not have been more pleased and also found the service throughout the hotel excellent.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to notice that you had an excellent stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Location: The hotel has the kind of location that we like: quiet, but very near to the busy areas.
There are a lot of good restaurants, bars around. There is also an upscale shopping area nearby. It is not that close to the Old Town but there is a tram stop in front of the hotel that gets you there in few minutes. There is also a canal hop-on-hop-off right outside the hotel. You may also take an hour boat cruise a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is also in a walking distance from the museum area - I suggest buying tickets in advance via Internet to avoid long queues- Rijksmuseum in a must as well as Van Gogh Museum.

Room: We took an American Junior Suite (room 117) and got a good price by booking in advance. It is spacious, clean, with a small private terrace facing the square, but it is dated and a bit dark. The bed is very comfortable and the windows are soundproofed which garanteed us a good night sleep. The bathroom is small, very basic toiletries and needs renovation - the shower is very good though.

Service: Nice staff, sometimes aloof, but generally good. The concierge was always very helpful giving directions, general information and making reservations.
Breakfast is good enough.

In general, we had a nice four-day stay. We were luck to have four sunny days, it was spring and the tulips were blooming. Visiting Keukenhof was an amazing experience. It is possible to get there by regular buses or taking a tour - there is one that pick you up across from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

They said our room would be ready at 3pm. Told us to wait in the bar. Room was ready at 5pm. Had to stand at the desk while others behind the counter were too busy chatting with each other to help us. The lobby is tacky looking. Watch out for the automatic lobby doors people were getting trapped in the foyer when the doors would not open. Room was shabby. Free wifi was a benefit. Location near the tram was good. Not sure that there really is a good location in Amsterdam. Dont take a taxi in Amsterdam. 20 euro from the train. Also don't waste your money on a canal cruise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Here at the hotel we aim to do our very best for every guest, and it is our continuous goal to exceed customer expectations. We can only achieve this by listening and reacting to your valuable comments. We share guest comments throughout the hotel, as we believe that constructive critiques are powerful tools that will only help us learn and improve.
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologise for our lack of compassion. Please be informed that I have spoken to the department heads involved to prevent this form happening again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was easy to access from the main train station (about 15 min ride) and located in a great location with plenty of restaurants, bars and entertainment. We took a canal hop-on-hop-off tour and it stopped right outside the hotel which was great especially in June when it rains every few hours.
I emailed ahead of time to request a two-bed room and they were more than happy to accommodate us when we arrived. The hotel itself has an old feel but with modern touches. The room was small but comfortable.
One night the hotel was especially accommodating; we called up room service and they had stopped serving a certain item and they said that they would be happy to make us the item we were looking for. It was so yummy!
The front desk staff was really friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Email the hotel and request a certain type of room if you have specific requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to put your comments on Tripadvisor.
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.