We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased and would definitely stay there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased and would definitely stay there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Lovely old historic hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and air-conditioning actually worked. Small bathrooms but functional. Staff very attentive and helpful. Fantastic art deco restaurant and outdoor eating area by lovely fountain (did not care for the expensive breakfast buffet, but lunch and dinner were very good). Very convenient area for museums and trams/buses. Lots of great little restaurants all around. We had a room at the back and were not bothered by noise. Our kids had a lovely room overlooking the canal.

Room Tip: Room 108 had a great view overlooking the canal and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Here at the hotel we aim to do our very best for every guest, and it is our continuous goal to exceed customer expectations. We can only achieve this by listening and reacting to your valuable comments. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    607
    215
    85
    41
See reviews for
139
627
107
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel has an excellent location in Amsterdam. Near Leidseplein, if you like a good beer.You can walk through the pedestrian zone to the centre of the city.
The hotel has an uniquearchitecture. The room s are big in relation to other amsterdam hotels. Beautiful breakfast room and very kind people, who are working in the hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room on the riverside, the leidsekade, its absolute quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to share your comments on Tripadvisor and for your loyalty to the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel.
Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at the American Hotel and again had a lovely room overlooking the canal, enjoyed the breakfast in the superb surroundings of the lovely old building and were attended to by the staff in an excellent manner. The hotel's location is excellent and we will definitely book again when visiting Amsterdam. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had an excellent stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Room is clean and new, but a bit small. Hotel is well located, near most attractions

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to put your comments on Tripadvisor. Please be informed that the Amsterdam American Hotel is a more than 100 years old building and the rooms, as they are today, are still in the same size as they were built in the year 1900. Therefore all rooms differ from each other in shape and size.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Loved it! Canal boat tour right across the street. Tram right out front. Great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Staff always welcoming, check in very smooth, rooms well appointed and quiet

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

HI.. I notice that the general manager reads and replies to these messages. I wanted to get in touch with the hotel reservations by email, but I don't see any possibility to do that. I think it would be good to have the email address and phone number more obviously placed in your webpage. I spoke with Barbara in reservations on Monday and tried to discuss some 5 rooms that I am interested in booking for November. We had a nice conversation and she said she would send me a proposal.. but now it is Friday afternoon in the States, and no message. I do want to reserve these rooms, and need a proposal. Could you help?? I have stayed before a few times and love the hotel. Mary Gergen gv4@psu.edu

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your message on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry that you have not received the proposal for 5 rooms in November. Please be informed that I have forwarded your message to Barbara. She will send you the proposal today! We are looking forward welcoming you and your guests again in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.