We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz Brunch highly recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jazz Brunch highly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We visited the hotel in June as group of 12 friends celebrating a 50th birthday. Excellent venue but we recommend booking a superior room as we did ..... the room we had was delightful with a large double balcony.....well worth the extra cost as some of the other rooms that members of our party booked were disappointingly small and dark. Superb super king sized bed with comfort to die for!! Take time to book into the Sunday Jazz Brunch........fantastic food and a fabulous way to whileaway a lazy Sunday lunchtime. Friendly helpful staff on reception. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for chosen the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel for celebrating a 50th birthday! We were glad to read that your stay and visit to our Café Americain for the Sunday Jazz Brunch was an excellent one and would like to thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    746
    254
    100
    46
See reviews for
176
796
119
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
630 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Excellent location and with two windows you could call it double-glazed so no external noise at all. Room was excellent overall and, for a change, the shower head actually directed water away from the wall (which is often not the case). Breakfast - if expensive - was very good and served in a fabulous art deco room. Free internet access with computers provided on a landing was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words.
Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had some appehension about the price, but found our stay to be well worth while. The room was small, but clean and bright. The beds were wonderfully comfortable, and our inside room was quiet, with no distracting street noise. The fixtrues were modern and everything worked well. The windows open at the top, so you can get fresh air.
One of the biggest assets was the concierge on duty at all times. He helped us to find restaurants, trips out of town, and trams to take to get around. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel quite at home.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: choose an inside room for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words.
Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. Thank you for having taken the time and effort to put your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I have now used this hotel 3 times for business trips. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The main bar (not the horrible 80's decor cocktail bar) is one of my favourite in Amsterdam - brilliant Art Deco decor. Sitting there with a Palm beer is great.

The real issue is the rooms. They are all looking pretty tired and really need a good old spruce up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words with regards to the friendliness of our Front Desk staff, and the compliments for our Café Americain. Comments from our guests whether positive or negative are very important to us and enable us to improve our service and standard performance. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future for the 4th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This review is long over due but have been wanting to share it for awhile. When we booked our trip to Amsterdam, we really agonized over the right hotel. Their website offered little in terms of description or info. Reviews for Amsterdam hotels are across the board. In the end, we selected this property as it really seemed to be the best value in terms of amenities, location, and uniqueness. We were not disappointed.

The building itself is beautiful and has a history has one of the most foremost hotels in the city. This history has somewhat past as the hotel has really evolved into a reliable business and travellers hotel. The room we had (king bed - standard room) appeared quite a bit bigger than the website photo and was very comfy. The bathroom was very good. My perception of the inside of the hotel was more like a typical Doubletree property. Not quite 4 or 5 star but solid and nice.

We asked for much help from the concierge in terms of directions, assistance with luggage, etc., and received fabulous service.

The hotel is *supurbly* located. You can walk to the Riks Museum and Van Gogh. The street car can be picked up right out front to get you to other parts of the city. It is worth noting that it is right on the Liedsplein, a very active nightlife area in the city. If you want to be tucked away from the action, this may not be the choice for you but I would add our room was very quiet.

The restaurant in the hotel is somewhat pricey but we enjoyed sitting outside in the cafe and people watching.

Enjoy Amsterdam! It's one of the great cities in the world. I would not hesitate staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words.
Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We booked a twin superior room with a canal view, and our room (108) was absolutely HUGE by European standards. I was expecting two small twin beds but they were two full size beds, very comfortable, with a separate living area as well. It almost felt like a suite. We also had a nice view of the canals, so the room was quiet, just what we wanted. It wasn't super luxurious but very comfortable, and our room certainly felt like a 4* hotel, along with the helpful service we received.

The only negative would be that the room was very dark - there are some bedside lamps but they do not offer much light. In the daytime the windows provided enough sunlight but at night we felt like we could barely see.

The hotel itself is perfectly located in the Leidseplein, right near a tram stop with several lines that will take you anywhere, but surrounded by all the restaurants and bars you could want. I would stay there again, but would book a superior room. We got a good deal by booking far ahead and it was a good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it. With regards to the darkness of the room in the evening I hereby would like to inform that we are a Green Key certified hotel in which we think of the environment, therefore all our rooms are equipped with energy saving lighting and water saving showers. We looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel early April 2011 for visiting family in Netherlands and also sightseeing around Amsterdam.
Booking was done for 2 rooms from a third party tour service. When we came in the rooms are ready and we just move right in.
Check in was average - there are quite a few people ahead of us and the check in process was neither fast nor too long - less than 10 minutes or so.
The concierge and front desk people are very nice and helpful, however they always seem to have too many things to handle at one time. Or is it just my luck to need them when everybody else does also? Due to the chaos at one time I handed out a separate bag of laundry to the concierge (after the first bag was taken from the room by hotel laundry department) and found out later that the second bag's content was lost! However it may not be the hotel's fault - the laundry they are using seems to be confused when they receive multiple orders from the same hotel and same room at same day! The concierge and the hotel Operational Manager tried hard to track it down even sending me e-mails and keep me posted on the results after I left - even though to no luck. It seems my Abercrombie & Fitch t-shirt and AussieBum jockeys is already part of someone's collection now....
The hotel is very centrally located. Just 1 block away from the Leidseplein tram stop, and surrounded by lots of eateries and cafes. Most of places of interest in Amsterdam's central area is accessible by walking. A short tram ride already takes you to the Dam square area which has so many "interesting" places to visit around.
The rooms are of good size, and have big very comfortable beds to sleep in. Unlike the hotel's outside appearance, the room and bathroom is very modern with nice amenities. The room has large flat screen TV and good program selection. However the internet charge is high that we decided not to use the service. It will be great if the charge is lowered since we usually went online to figure out where we want to go around the area whenever we are travelling. So - back to the concierge to ask for all of the info on where to go, what to do and how to get to the places there! We usually uses concierges' info only for insider's scoop on things for most of our trips.
The restaurant is big and have very wide selection for breakfast, including a live cooking station. The restaurant attendants are very friendly and helpful, particularly a gentleman wearing glasses who always stops by and asked us if there is anything that he can help us with.
Eden Amsterdam American hotel is highly recommended for travellers who wants to stay in a nice central place in Amsterdam with good standard of amenities, easy access to transportation around the city, and manned by nice helpful people who gives very good service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Here at the hotel we aim to do our very best for every guest, and it is our continuous goal to exceed customer expectations. We can only achieve this by listening and reacting to your valuable comments. We share guest comments throughout the hotel, as we believe that constructive critiques are powerful tools that will only help us learn and improve. Please be informed that since the 1st of June the hotel also offer free internet.
Thank you again for having taken the time and effort to put your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#80 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#58 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.