We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Grafenwohr, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I traveled to Amsterdam with my husband, mother and aunt. We had a wonderful time. Eden Amsterdam American Hotel is a great hotel, in a very nice neighborhood. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean.
It is easy to get to the hotel from the airport. Bring change to buy a bus ticket. Hop on bus 197. 197 will also take you back to the airport when you return.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words.
Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    553
    197
    85
    40
See reviews for
114
542
95
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Our stay in Amsterdam was slightly spoilt on arrival by the Receptionist asking for a deposit of 360 euros to stay in the hotel. We do not use Credit Cards and so had only 400 euros cash. We then had to negotiate with her so that we paid only 90 euros, which would be carried over as long as we did not use room service or the mini-bar. We were definitely NOT going to use them after that. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and we have never been asked to pay a deposit before having already paid in advance (we obviously looked very dodgy)! When we got to our room, it was very clean and everything looked fine, except for the bed which was two single beds pushed together, we had booked a 'king sized bed' in a double room. We also found using the shower in the morning to be very precarious, as the soap dispenser next to the bath had leaked soap into the bath. Each morning my husband and I would have to make sure that there was no soap in the bath before we could have our shower.
Otherwise everything else was great!! On our last night we ate in the hotel's restaurant, it was amazing. The waiter was excellent and very friendly, the food was the best we had eaten during our whole vacation in Amsterdam.. Having just read over my review I must point out that our stay at the Eden Amsterdam American should have been excellent, it was just the little bitty things that made it only good. Funnily enough I would recommend this hotel to my friends as it is so close to all the major attractions.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences with us. Comments from our guests whether positive or negative are very important to us and enable us to improve our service.



We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not fully meet your expectations and we sincerely apologise for this. Please be informed that it is our hotel policy to ask either a cash deposit or to authorise a credit card at € 90.00 per day to guarantee for all charges you can use at the hotel using your room number, i.e. drinks in or Bar Americain, lunch and dinner etc. in our Café Americain, roomservice, minibar etc.

The risk for the hotel is too high not to ask any guarantee. We hope for your understanding in our point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Nice place, nice location, but spending already over $200+ night, then having to pay over 22 euros for the Internet is just a plain ripoff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor. Comments from our guests whether positive or negative are very important to us and enable us to improve our service.
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not fully meet your expectations and we sincerely apologise for this. Please be informed that we are currently checking other options for the internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. We had booked 2 rooms that were on the same floor next to each other. We checked in early and one room was availalbe so we stored our bags in one room and went sightseeing. We were on the 2nd floor and didn't have any noise level from the street below. Our room was beautifully decorated. It was a big room with a king size bed, small sofa with a chair, a desk/chair, flat screen tv with mini-frig. The bathroom was a good size with a garden tub. The second room was smaller than our room (exactly as picture on their website for a standard room) but it still had a king size bed and was still beautifully decorated.

The location was perfect for sightseeing. It was within walking distance to most tourist sites and 10 min. walk to Dam Square. We took a 3 1/2 walking tour with Sandeman's Tours. Students give tours free and just ask for tips. Our guide's name was Joe and she was excellent. Sandeman's offer walking tours all over Europe.

We didn't eat in the restaurant or bar. Prices were very high.

They did have 2 computers available for a small fee although the day we tried to use it, the comptuer worked but the printer didn't work. We asked for assistance at the Front Desk and they allowed me to check our departing flight schedule and print boarding passes free of charge.

The conceirge gave us tips on sightseeing and told us where to catch the public bus going back to the airport. We took the Schiphol airport bus to and from the airport for 4 euro each way.

The hotel exceeded our expectations and I would definitely recommend it. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor! Comments from our guests whether positive or negative are very important to us and enable us to improve our service.
We were pleased to notice that you had an excellent stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel last week for business. The hotel is a wonderful combination of Euorpean architecture and art deco! Beautifully situation overlooking the Leidseplein square, The American Hotel has a lot to offer the business and leisure traveler.

My room was clean, efficient and with a balcony overlooking Leidseplein. The cafe and restaurant were wonderful and full of energy. The counter staff and concierge were wonderful and helpful.

The American Hotel is perfectly situated for all your business and social needs. Walk out the front door and you can ride the Tram 15 minutes to RAI Amsterdam (Convention Center) Or 15 minutes to Central Station.
It is only a 15 minute walk to the Fashion and Museum district. I highly recommend visiting the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.

Every night the Plein is filled with people eating and drinking at all the cafe's, bars and restaurants. If you are looking for something more American. There is a Hard Rock cafe 5 minutes away.

I would recommend getting a 96 hour Tram Chip Card. This will allow you travel all over the city. The card can be purchsed for 19 Euro. Take a ride to Central Station and stroll through the Red Light District. This reminded me a little bit of Bourbon Street. You can then walk South and see the Royal Palace and Dam Square. Tired? Just jump on the Tram and take it to your next stop. You will not be disappointed at the American Hotel for a truely great Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to put these comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Good location, service, cleanliness, I am very satisfied with this hotel wich I didn't know anything about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel is in need of a major interior renovation. Currently they have renovated and non renovated rooms. I asked for a renovated one and had to ask management if they had made a mistake by giving me a non renovated room. There was no mistake, mine supposedly WAS renovated. It sure didn't look like it. Toilet seat was loose, sink cabinet chipped, rugs were stained, walls had marks and dents. This could easily have been repaired but it is clear that management is not attentive. It would seem that the Eden American is clinging to its former glory. The location is excellent as is the concierge. The staff behind the counter, however, is not at all pleasant. They must be hardened by the complaints and the frustration of Eden corporate management's unwillingness to improve the hotel. Go

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. Here at the hotel we aim to do our very best for every guest, and it is our continuous goal to exceed customer expectations. We can only achieve this by listening and reacting to your valuable comments. We share guest comments throughout the hotel, as we believe that constructive critiques are powerful tools that will only help us learn and improve. It is unacceptable that your room had quite a few discrepancies. We sincerely apologise for all the inconveniences caused and please be informed that I have spoken to the head of departments from maintenance and housekeeping, to prevent this from happening again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#91 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#79 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#123 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.