We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden American Hotel - Where Amsterdam and Times Square collide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Eden American Hotel - Where Amsterdam and Times Square collide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel last week for business. The hotel is a wonderful combination of Euorpean architecture and art deco! Beautifully situation overlooking the Leidseplein square, The American Hotel has a lot to offer the business and leisure traveler.

My room was clean, efficient and with a balcony overlooking Leidseplein. The cafe and restaurant were wonderful and full of energy. The counter staff and concierge were wonderful and helpful.

The American Hotel is perfectly situated for all your business and social needs. Walk out the front door and you can ride the Tram 15 minutes to RAI Amsterdam (Convention Center) Or 15 minutes to Central Station.
It is only a 15 minute walk to the Fashion and Museum district. I highly recommend visiting the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.

Every night the Plein is filled with people eating and drinking at all the cafe's, bars and restaurants. If you are looking for something more American. There is a Hard Rock cafe 5 minutes away.

I would recommend getting a 96 hour Tram Chip Card. This will allow you travel all over the city. The card can be purchsed for 19 Euro. Take a ride to Central Station and stroll through the Red Light District. This reminded me a little bit of Bourbon Street. You can then walk South and see the Royal Palace and Dam Square. Tired? Just jump on the Tram and take it to your next stop. You will not be disappointed at the American Hotel for a truely great Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
We were pleased to notice that you had a good stay and would like to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to put these comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Eden Amsterdam American Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    575
    203
    84
    39
See reviews for
129
592
102
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Good location, service, cleanliness, I am very satisfied with this hotel wich I didn't know anything about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for your kind words. Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I will make sure the hotel staff receives the opportunity to read it.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel is in need of a major interior renovation. Currently they have renovated and non renovated rooms. I asked for a renovated one and had to ask management if they had made a mistake by giving me a non renovated room. There was no mistake, mine supposedly WAS renovated. It sure didn't look like it. Toilet seat was loose, sink cabinet chipped, rugs were stained, walls had marks and dents. This could easily have been repaired but it is clear that management is not attentive. It would seem that the Eden American is clinging to its former glory. The location is excellent as is the concierge. The staff behind the counter, however, is not at all pleasant. They must be hardened by the complaints and the frustration of Eden corporate management's unwillingness to improve the hotel. Go

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. Here at the hotel we aim to do our very best for every guest, and it is our continuous goal to exceed customer expectations. We can only achieve this by listening and reacting to your valuable comments. We share guest comments throughout the hotel, as we believe that constructive critiques are powerful tools that will only help us learn and improve. It is unacceptable that your room had quite a few discrepancies. We sincerely apologise for all the inconveniences caused and please be informed that I have spoken to the head of departments from maintenance and housekeeping, to prevent this from happening again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Eden American is a lovely hotel, inside and out.

Rooms were, I though, fairly large by Amsterdam standards (see pictures), the bath was nicely large as well. There was also a minibar, with EXTREMELY high prices (e.g. 4euro, almost $6, for 0.3 liter of Coke). The bed was comfortable and actually KING size, and was accompanied by a desk, two chairs (one at the desk), a dresser with flatscreen TV (many channels in English), and a decent sized closet with door. I appreciated that there were many lights and lamps, all of which could be controlled from switches right by the bed.

This is a first class hotel in a prime location. The Leidseplein is at the intersection of tram lines, which makes it very convenient to get to varied locations around the city. It is also walking distance to many attractions, including casinos and museums. The Leidseplein itself is filled with bars and restaurants, from less expensive "fast" food restaurants (and, heaven forbid! U.S. chains like Macdonald's and Burger King) to very nice restaurants and quant bars and pubs. On a nice day, much of the plein is also filled with tables and chairs so you can eat/drink outdoors.

But, going into the Leidseplein is not required, as the hotel itself has a lovely, if pricey, restaurant and bar, and its own outdoor service.

The staff was very warm and welcoming, trying very hard to make the stay comfortable. Housekeeping was thorough and well done.

This was one of the first hotels that I have run across in years in Europe that also had ice machines on every other floor! It is amazing at how hard it is to get ice, even in restaurants. This little feature made a lot of difference.

Internet, wired, was available but expensive (18 euro for 24 hours contiguous, or 10 euro for 60 minutes non-consecutively during a 24-hour period). Service was fast and easy to connect.

Even though I was on the fourth floor, I could still hear the tram noises. It was not awful, reminded me of a lightly rolling thunderstorm until the trams stopped at about 1am.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you for your review!
We always glad to hear that our guests are satisfied staying in our hotel.
We will pass your compliments to our staff.
Other guests will benefit from your review to visit Amsterdam.
Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We loved the hotel and its fabulous location, near shops, cafes and restaurants, as well as in easy walking distance of the Vondelpark and Museums. The breakfast is good value for money, offering a choice of "full English" or cold Continental meats, cheese and pastries, served in a visually stunning environment of the Art Deco dining room. You could even help yourself to a civilised glass of Prosecco. We found the staff most helpful and some went well beyond the call of duty, providing us with a photocopied 'history of the hotel', which made interesting reading. Our bedroom overlooked the canal, so it had a nice view. It was perfectly comfortable and quiet, which is all one wants from a city hotel. We'll certainly stay again next time we're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your review!
We always glad to hear that our guests are satisfied staying in our hotel.
We will pass your compliments to our staff.
Other guests will benefit from your review to visit Amsterdam.
Hope to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Located just off Leidseplein and next to a canal, it is ideally placed for the Melkweg, the Paradiso, the great Oestebar fish restaurant and for a myriad of other bars, coffee shops and local specialties! The American Hotel bar is funky, and the Hotel bedrooms of a very high standard. I would certainly return to the American Hotel, although the Sofitel Convent Hotel probably just about has the edge for it's convenient location a few minutes walk from Centraal station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your review!
We always glad to hear that our guests are satisfied staying in our hotel. Besides guests for Paradiso, The Melkweg the hotel is also convenient located next to DeLaMar Theater and City Theater.

Other guests will benefit from your review to visit Amsterdam.
I look forward to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill Kincardineshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Surprised at some negative reviews by other members. Our experiences were completely positive from the very first moment (when we arrived to find our room was not quite ready, Reception immediately offered us a free drinks voucher and repeated that when it was still not ready less than half-an-hour later) until the end (our luggage was whisked away so that we could make use of our free time until departing for the airport). This hotel rose to every challenge. Any requests were greeted politely, gently and courteously with an "Of course!" reply. All the staff were friendly, but even more so once we had seen them a couple of times. The hotel was frequently extremely busy with locals and visitors but the staff still maintained a professional approach and service was usually prompt. The beautiful restaurant offered a comprehensive breakfast (we were offered a seasonal discount by Reception which we accepted), with all manner of cereals, cold and hot dishes, breads and pastries, juices and drinks - including champagne! - so we were astonished that some members had felt that breakfast was too expensive. Dinner was most enjoyable but we did feel that perhaps chef could have offered daily specials or that there could have been greater variety. Our fourth floor room was large, well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The en-suite was clean, the water almost instantly hot and the towels large and comforting. The mini bar was comprehensively stocked but Reception didn't pick up that we had used a large bag of crisps until we told them that we had. There was occasional "bell" noise from the trams outside (probably most noticeable in the morning). The tip by members to get the 370 bus from the airport was a very good suggestion. We did so to the Eden and back. Members need to be aware that the road from the airport is very smooth but has quite a few bends and, unless you can get a seat, coping with cases can be tricky. The Eden is ideally situated for access to the canal system, museums and shopping centres, either on foot or by using the buses or trams. The Hotel offered us an excellent map of the area, handy when exploring. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay and would unhesitatingly stay at the Eden when next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRomein, General Manager at Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you for your review!
We always glad to hear that our guests are satisfied staying in our hotel.
We will pass your compliments to our staff.
Other guests will benefit from your review to visit Amsterdam.
Hope to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel resembling a Venetian palace with sweeping arches & clock tower. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.