We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, fresh new take on Indonesian cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,533 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $49 - $60
Cuisines: International, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. The food is fresh and sparkling spiced. Good and no nonsense food. Forget the expectation of the days Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant, fresh new take on Indonesian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visit Amsterdam nearly every year, and have tried many restaurants. Some of which we have loved, and like to revisit, others we have put down to experience. We have, however, never managed to try a cuisine for which Amsterdam has a reputation - Indonesian. So, on our recent four day trip we booked a table at Max Restaurant on Herenstraat. From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly, relaxed and welcoming. The restaurant itself was very clean, modern and fresh and although fairly empty when we arrived at 6.30, it soon began to fill up and had a gently buzzing atmosphere without seeming too noisy or fraught. We ordered the Rijstafel for two, as we wanted to try a selection of what they had to offer, and we were not disappointed. Every small bowl of food was delicious and some, like the Indonesian spiced sea bass and the Balinese chicken, were positively magnificent. By the end we were thoroughly satisfied, though when the waitress asked if we'd like any dishes refilling, we did force ourselves to have a little more of our favourite couple of dishes! The wine list, though small was perfectly adequate, and the Viognier we chose went really well with the fragrant, spicy dishes. We would recommend Max to anyone staying in Amsterdam and looking for something a little different to the more usual Indonesian Restaurants, a more modern experience and a menu with an interesting twist on the traditional. We will certainly book a table there on our next visit, and look forward to trying some of the other dishes on their a la carte menu. If they are as delicious as the Sea Bass we had, then we will be exceedingly happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely compliments.
We are happy that we are doing good business, it's always busy, full restaurant every day.
A good tip: if you come early around 6.30pm the restaurant won't be noisy. The room will slowly filled up and you will be also slowly part of the buzz.
Hope to welcome you soon again.

Regards,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    278
    43
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern Twist on Traditional Indonesian Favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I lived in Indonesia for a decade and am very familiar with the food. We went to Max and they have taken the old traditional favorites and made them modern. The tasting menu was superb and i must say this is the very Indonesian food I have had in a very, very long time. The restaurant is trendy and set on a little street with other restaurants. We ate outside on a lovely summer evening and it was super.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Food was superb. Will not disappoint. Very close to our Hotel The Toren, Staff very friendly and will revisit for sure on my next trip to Amsterdam

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

MAX is one of a kind. The Indonesion dishes are authentic but with a modern twist: delicious! The restaurant is not too big, which gave us a homely feeling, not like the big tourist places. Also The Herenstraat, where the restaurant is located, is a cosy little street in a great neighbourhood with numberous boutique-style shops: this is the real Amsterdam! We almost felt like locals ;-)
And for the staff: professional and personal! We had a great night!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I would fly back to Amsterdam just to taste the sensational dishes from Max's once again. The scallop starter was divine, every mouthful amazed me and the cinnamon caramel sauce was unreal. The spicy chicken salad was beautiful, light but oh so flavoursome and the indonesian seabass filet was so full of complementary flavours and spices, I was left in awe. To top off the most amazing meal I have ever tasted, the staff were so friendly and accommodating and I loved the presence of the voluntary donation for the homeless on the bill, a thoughtful and incredible restaurant! Thinking about flying back there right now just so I can experience it once more!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you and you're welcome,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.