We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $45 - $55
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Food was superb. Will not disappoint. Very close to our Hotel The Toren, Staff very friendly and will revisit for sure on my next trip to Amsterdam

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    206
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

MAX is one of a kind. The Indonesion dishes are authentic but with a modern twist: delicious! The restaurant is not too big, which gave us a homely feeling, not like the big tourist places. Also The Herenstraat, where the restaurant is located, is a cosy little street in a great neighbourhood with numberous boutique-style shops: this is the real Amsterdam! We almost felt like locals ;-)
And for the staff: professional and personal! We had a great night!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I would fly back to Amsterdam just to taste the sensational dishes from Max's once again. The scallop starter was divine, every mouthful amazed me and the cinnamon caramel sauce was unreal. The spicy chicken salad was beautiful, light but oh so flavoursome and the indonesian seabass filet was so full of complementary flavours and spices, I was left in awe. To top off the most amazing meal I have ever tasted, the staff were so friendly and accommodating and I loved the presence of the voluntary donation for the homeless on the bill, a thoughtful and incredible restaurant! Thinking about flying back there right now just so I can experience it once more!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you and you're welcome,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic evening at Max. The staff were extremely helpful with recommendations and were very attentive throughout. From delicious delicate scallops to the fiery kick of the beef curry and ending with perfectly cooked sea bass, our taste buds were tempted, tickled and tantelized. We left happy and full. Thanks to the amazing service and chefs at Max!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fantastic restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I recently ate at Max with my husband a 2 grown up children and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had not eaten Indonesian food before so the tasting menu was excellent and gave us a wide selection of tasty treats to try out.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they were extremely welcoming and friendly.
I would definitely go back next time we are visiting Amsterdam and would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.