We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indonesian/French fusion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 2,542 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $49 - $60
Cuisines: International, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. The food is fresh and sparkling spiced. Good and no nonsense food. Forget the expectation of the days Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Indonesian/French fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went here on recommendation and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and varied. We ordered specific items from the menu, but watching the other tables being served, wished we had gone with the taster menu.....

Max the owner is a charming and hospitable gentleman -we will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    279
    44
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stumbled upon this after glancing at trip advisor, purely to see In what direction the restaurants were. The food was amazing! Having the tasting menu was the best way forward allowing us to sample pretty much the entire menu. The small elegant dishes came out as we journeyed through taste and temperature, starting with mild to hot, so to not ruin our taste buds. I was pleasantly surprised that they were more than willing to replenish any of the dishes, however we were already to full by this stage.
The staff were lovely and perfectly attentive without being overbearing.

Our only regret was that it ruined many other meals for us in Amsterdam which didn't live up to their reviews.

Truly a gem in Amsterdam and a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks and hopefully see you next time again,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our group of 5 had a wonderful dinner at MAX restaurant! The food was so good. Another very popular restaurant so make reservations if possible. The staff was very attentive & really friendly. It's also in a terrific neighborhood. Highly recommend MAX!!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Max' experience with more TA readers.
Good companion, good food, good wine and friendly service is all what we need to have a nice evening. Isn't it.
It's true we are located in a nice neighboorhood surrounded by the beautiful canals with a lot of local bars and small restaurants with their small terraces. A well hidden and tourist friendly neighboorhood especially if you don't like the big busy squares and massm tourist places. Welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian in town?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice interior and in a lively neighborhood. Great staff and super Indonesian food for reasonable prices.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ate here after reading quite good reviews. It was an average meal really but we found most of the food in amstedam very sub standard. The service is good but the food very average. I wouldn't eat there again but the restaurant itself is very well kept and modern

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.