We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service!!'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,528 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $41 - $50
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and service!!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had the Indonesian trading menu for two. It was expensive but very good. Our best meal in Amsterdam! And the service was on the top end we have had in the city as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    225
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was lucky to get a table on a busy night (I stepped in the door around 6.30 pm and was able to get a table that was booked from 8.30, ample time for a solitary dinner). The staff was friendly and efficient even though the place filled up quite quickly, and the food was wonderful!
I had the best scallops I have ever had as a starter, and after a main course of asparagus with smoked salmon i didn't really need a dessert, but 'layered Indonesian spice cake with apple cinnamon ice cream' was too interesting to pass by, and I did not regret it. Strongly recommended!
Even as I was leaving, the head waiter took a few minutes to give me some tips on what to do next. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Amsterdam, and then I'll book beforehand to make sure I get a table,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific rijstaffel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Max does rijstaffel right! The food was fresh, the tastes varied, and none of the tired old standbys. Wonderful meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Yeah, thank you and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Hope to welcome you soon again,

Max' staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal, a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We decided to visit MAX on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews. We emailed in advance to book a table and received a swift response confirming our booking. As is when you do these thing, we wondered whether we would be disappointed when we arrived. I can promise you we weren't! After perusing the menu online at home we opted for the tasting menu. We had chicken satay to start, which was unlike any we had ever tasted, in a good way! Then came the 7 course main menu, a selection of all the dishes on the menu, absolutely delicious and a great chance to taste a little bit of everything if, as we do, you find it difficult to choose. The dessert was a gingerbread layer cake, which we weren't too sure of, but as with the rest of the meal was delicious and exceeded our expectations. The staff were attentive, friendly and efficient, the prices were very reasonable considering the quality and service we received. Thanks MAX, if we return to Amsterdam we will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Ottimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very good. Food is fine, although spicy. Bass is delicious. Service is friendly and kind. Easy to reach and It is pleasant dinner at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.