We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven☺️☺️☺️” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner from Tuesday till Sunday. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore the New International cuisine with the additional respect of the flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking and the use of fresh ingredients. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant look or the trendy deconstructive foam attractions but enjoy our good food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Heaven☺️☺️☺️”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Celebrated my birthday at Max last Feb1, 2014. We can't find any fault about this amazing restaurant, the food was absolutely amazing, the pudding OMG it was heaven, especially the one I have chosen, forgot the name.The service was fast, staff are friendly . We had the three course meal and their in house wine , again it was lovely....next time we go back to Amsterdam, for sure we will be back with this reastaurant, just an advise pls do book in advance coz the place is not that big, and it's a popular restaurant to prevent you to be disappointed , and we actually look for the place before hand before our dinner schedule which was really good things to do, the place is a walking distance from Amsterdam Central Train station. Will definitely recommend to our friends.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    409
    157
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Before we arrived in Amsterdam we booked a table in Max's based on positive trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The food was incredible, so fresh and flavoursome, we also had a beautiful bottle of Amarone. The service was also excellent, staff were very helpful and friendly. We were in Amsterdam for our fifth anniversary & Max's was without a doubt, the highlight of our trip. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently visited Amsterdam and was recommended MAX restaurant we tried it for ourselves it very good food was full of flavours and deco and service was A1

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No nonsense Indonesian, fabulous food, great staff, enthusiastic owner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not for nothing is this unassuming restaurant so highly rated on trip advisor. We visited on a Sunday night, and even then had to book whilst nearly everywhere else was half empty. The staff - and particularly the owner, are friendly and so enthusiastic about the place. Max (the owner), is hugely engaging. The food is not overly expensive and the flavours are delicious. My only criticism was that I couldn't also have the meal that was almost served to us by mistake (was destined to a nearly table). We had the traditional Rijstaffel, and the flavours were subtle, and across the rage of small dishes, so contrasting. If you have never had Indonesian food (something like a cross between Indian and Thai, but so much more subtle), here would be a wonderful plea to start. If you have come across Indonesian, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“MAXimum pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Suffering ( pleasurably ) from canal wandering fatigue, we stumbled into MAX where they managed to fit us in despite our not having a reservation. Our meal was a delight. The surroundings are crisp and clean, the service impeccable and the food a real treat. In common I suspect with many visitors, we had the Indonesian tasting menu - a whole archipelago of subtle tastes - six dishes, sea bass, rice and crackers, beautifully presented. And we were offered additional portions of the dishes we most liked - when did that last happen in a restaurant? With a satay salad starter and desert, it really was a perfect meal. The wine list is short and well focussed. First class.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.