We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $41 - $50
Cuisines: International, European, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Max during a weekend trip to Amsterdam, and we really enjoyed both the atmosphere of the place and the qualify of the food. The mixed Mediterranean and Indonesian menu makes for a nice and original combination. Highly recommended for a casual meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    243
    41
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We visited in December 2013. This is a lovely restaurant with attentive, friendly service and delicious food. We had the Indonesian tasting plate which was 3 courses, at 35 Euro per person. Everything was delicious, no complaints!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“as good as others say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This restaurant was a hit with my Japanese customers who spent several days in Amsterdam and France, and they claimed that they had the best meal at Max during their European visit.
It serves a fusion-style Indonesian cuisine. We chose the tasting menu – almost like a rice table. Rather than clustering every dish on the table, each dish was served neatly on modern china with a good visible appeal. The food was fresh and tasted as authentic Indonesian as I could tell. The recommended wine, at a reasonable price, complemented the meal well.
Even though the restaurant was filled quickly when we began our meal, the staff was friendly and attentive. Before serving our desserts, the owner came around asking if we had enough food and offered extra food which we accepted and cleaned out without too much efforts because it was that good. No extra charge, of course.
This was excellent customer service. Perhaps, another reason why this relatively new restaurant shoots up to the top of the TA list like Bistrotters in Paris, another rising star at which I had dinner in June.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your business guests to MAX Amsterdam. Glad to know that was a big succes and that they like our food a lot.
Thank you for the compliments to compare us with Bistrotters in Paris, both business do their best to prepare good food with good wines, good and friendly but no nonsense service.
Hope to welcome you and your guests again at MAX Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stunning food & hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We couldn't book a table so we just turned up and they were full so we went for a drink, tried a bit later and so glad they managed to fit us in because the food was exquisite. We had a fabulous meal in another restaurant the night before but this was even better and the best meal we have had anywhere for quit a while.

The indonesian touch of spices were just amazing and complimented the food perfectly. Loved the european / indonesian touch which made it so different. We savoured every last mouthful and just didn't want the explosion of flavours in your mouth to end.

Well done Max and the team. We will definitely be back on our next visit but will book next time AND turn up. If you book a table here and change your mind, please have the courtesy of phoning Max to let him know so someone else can enjoy this fabulous experience.

P.S. Max, can you open up a restaurant in Cambridge, UK? You'd be so popular and very successful!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for coming back and to take a chance to dine at MAX and that you enjoyed our Indonesian- Interantional food.
And also thank you for placing this important part:
"Well done Max and the team. We will definitely be back on our next visit but will book next time AND turn up. If you book a table here and change your mind, please have the courtesy of phoning Max to let him know so someone else can enjoy this fabulous experience"

Hope to see next time again,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

very nice atmosphere, lovely place and excellent food. not to be missed. be aware of the spicy food. indonesian spicy is really spicy! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for trying our spicy Indonesian food, even I know that Italians are not used to eat spicy. Hope you will love this new experience :-)
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.