We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving Its Ranking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,486 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $42 - $51
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deserving Its Ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'm sure that there are many fine restaurants in Amsterdam but Max's certainly deserves its TripAdvisor ranking. We had the special rijstaffel tasting and it was terrific. The waitstaff at Max's took the time to explain each dish, the spices used, and the preparation. There was a perfect mix of more and less spicy dishes and we were even rewarded with some extra of the dishes we particularly enjoyed. The starter salad with chicken satay really whets the appetite. The room is great, too. Lots of buzz but never intrusive. It's clear that everyone is enjoying their dining experience at Max's. Good wine list, as well. Max's was the highlight of our dining experiences in Amsterdam. Thanks, Max.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments and for posting this review. Glad to know you enjoyed the food and the ambiance at MAX.
Hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    216
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first experience of Indonesian food as there are very few (if any) restaurants serving this type of cuisine in Scotland. The taster menu was fantastic - great range of dishes all with their own distinctive flavour. Staff were lovely and the atmosphere really welcoming - could not have been better! Fancy establishing a restaurant in Glasgow Max? We would be first in the queue!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Glasgow,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review and to have you as guests in the restaurant. Happy to read you enjoyed your Indonesian dishes and had a good time at MAX Amsterdam.
Who knows... MAX Glasgow :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Food in a Buzzy Warm Environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visited MAX restaurant in Amsterdam last week, they gave us a warm welcome on arrival. We had made a reservation as heard it does get busy, and they were right! We arrived at 7.30 and by 8pm the small restaurant was packed. We both ordered the chicken satay salay salad to start, then my friend had a Chicken Dish for her Main and I had a Spicy Beef Red curry which was delicious. I would highly recommend, but make sure you book a table in advance as it's obviously very popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Happy to read you enjoyed our modern style Indonesian food. The beef with the spicy red curry cream is a renewed dish. It's a new favourite.
Hope we can welcome you again.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“number one in amsterdam??? sure no!)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hi people! We were with my wife at the restaurant on Sunday 08.12.2013. they had a few tables and the audience that knew the owner of the restaurant ....Not bad) Very narrow aisles, no interior, narrow and uncomfortable tables and chairs .... My girlfriend ordered a card of 2-course menu, I Indonesian three-course menu. my starter was gorgeous, but the main dish was nothing (((her starter was nothing, but the duck from the menu was super! Shiraz was good for 25 Euro-reasonable price ..... About prices: 2-course menu 29 euros, the Indonesian menu of 3 courses 35 euros .... It would be good, if not half of the menu was tasteless ((((Conclusion: In Amsterdam there are a surprising number of places where you can eat for two and drink a bottle of wine for less than 100 euros for two! PS we were paying with 500 Euro Bill and the owner had the opportunity to exchange us, though it made ​​him what that anxiety-he told us that in Holland nobody has money and pay all with the cards .... when we broughtus the change, the owner came running to us in a couple of minutes and looked as we left the tip waiters .... It was very rude and indecent ...from 90 euros in our bill, we left only 3.5 euro-tip with a hint of improvement in food and service! probably thatswhy he did not say goodbye to us))))) In addition, another remark: we do not want to eat a lot, we just wanted to eat something and drink wine .... The owner told us, it is not possible: every visitor must order menu!)))) Which we did and were disappointed in the quality! Wishing to the owner and the restaurant, love your customers, treat carefully and correctly to the dishes you prepare. You position yourself as the number one restaurant in Amsterdam, but apparently do still not ready for this not morally, not physically. Is no different from a good restaurant with prices in 2 times less! good luck to you and work on yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We like to welcome everyone from all over the world who wants to try and hopefully enjoy our food but we don't like them who come to MAX for the reason because we are high ranked and actually do not like Indonesian food or spicy food at all. Just playing with their smart phones all the time while having dinner.
And to be honest I don't like to have guest who insists to pay with 500 euro note and explained me how common it is to pay with a 500 note in Moscow. No sir, this behaviour is not common here in Amsterdam.
Ok, that joke about the tip was rude after that..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

First visit to Max and it certainly won't be the last!!!

Lovely restaurant, very cosy, and nicely decorated, amazing food...the 3 course Indonesian set menu was amazing!!! staff were very friendly, and efficient. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

This place is a little gem, and is a must if your in the dam. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Yeah ! Thank you !
Promise, we will keep the good work.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.