We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,414 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $46 - $56
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first experience of Indonesian food as there are very few (if any) restaurants serving this type of cuisine in Scotland. The taster menu was fantastic - great range of dishes all with their own distinctive flavour. Staff were lovely and the atmosphere really welcoming - could not have been better! Fancy establishing a restaurant in Glasgow Max? We would be first in the queue!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Glasgow,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review and to have you as guests in the restaurant. Happy to read you enjoyed your Indonesian dishes and had a good time at MAX Amsterdam.
Who knows... MAX Glasgow :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    198
    37
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Food in a Buzzy Warm Environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visited MAX restaurant in Amsterdam last week, they gave us a warm welcome on arrival. We had made a reservation as heard it does get busy, and they were right! We arrived at 7.30 and by 8pm the small restaurant was packed. We both ordered the chicken satay salay salad to start, then my friend had a Chicken Dish for her Main and I had a Spicy Beef Red curry which was delicious. I would highly recommend, but make sure you book a table in advance as it's obviously very popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Happy to read you enjoyed our modern style Indonesian food. The beef with the spicy red curry cream is a renewed dish. It's a new favourite.
Hope we can welcome you again.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“number one in amsterdam??? sure no!)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hi people! We were with my wife at the restaurant on Sunday 08.12.2013. they had a few tables and the audience that knew the owner of the restaurant ....Not bad) Very narrow aisles, no interior, narrow and uncomfortable tables and chairs .... My girlfriend ordered a card of 2-course menu, I Indonesian three-course menu. my starter was gorgeous, but the main dish was nothing (((her starter was nothing, but the duck from the menu was super! Shiraz was good for 25 Euro-reasonable price ..... About prices: 2-course menu 29 euros, the Indonesian menu of 3 courses 35 euros .... It would be good, if not half of the menu was tasteless ((((Conclusion: In Amsterdam there are a surprising number of places where you can eat for two and drink a bottle of wine for less than 100 euros for two! PS we were paying with 500 Euro Bill and the owner had the opportunity to exchange us, though it made ​​him what that anxiety-he told us that in Holland nobody has money and pay all with the cards .... when we broughtus the change, the owner came running to us in a couple of minutes and looked as we left the tip waiters .... It was very rude and indecent ...from 90 euros in our bill, we left only 3.5 euro-tip with a hint of improvement in food and service! probably thatswhy he did not say goodbye to us))))) In addition, another remark: we do not want to eat a lot, we just wanted to eat something and drink wine .... The owner told us, it is not possible: every visitor must order menu!)))) Which we did and were disappointed in the quality! Wishing to the owner and the restaurant, love your customers, treat carefully and correctly to the dishes you prepare. You position yourself as the number one restaurant in Amsterdam, but apparently do still not ready for this not morally, not physically. Is no different from a good restaurant with prices in 2 times less! good luck to you and work on yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We like to welcome everyone from all over the world who wants to try and hopefully enjoy our food but we don't like them who come to MAX for the reason because we are high ranked and actually do not like Indonesian food or spicy food at all. Just playing with their smart phones all the time while having dinner.
And to be honest I don't like to have guest who insists to pay with 500 euro note and explained me how common it is to pay with a 500 note in Moscow. No sir, this behaviour is not common here in Amsterdam.
Ok, that joke about the tip was rude after that..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

First visit to Max and it certainly won't be the last!!!

Lovely restaurant, very cosy, and nicely decorated, amazing food...the 3 course Indonesian set menu was amazing!!! staff were very friendly, and efficient. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

This place is a little gem, and is a must if your in the dam. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Yeah ! Thank you !
Promise, we will keep the good work.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went there for dinner on Saturday night after a few drinks in Tales and Spirits, was worried about getting a table without booking but they managed to fit us in even though it was just after 7pm and said we could have the table until 9pm which was more than long enough - if we'd come in later we might not have been so lucky! We had the taster menu which was great value with an amazing starter of chicken satay salad and then a selection of main courses (the sea bass, chicken and beef curry were especially good but all of them were really tasty!) and a dessert of layer cake, mango sorbet and cinnamon ice cream. For €35 each (+ a bottle of Cotes du Rhone at €35) it was the best value high end meal I've ever had, the service was great and I left a really expensive scarf at the table and they actually dashed down the road after me to give it back!! Can't recommend this place enough and would definitely go back the next time in Amsterdam - thanks to all the staff for an amazing night, top class!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for writing this friendly review about us.
We always try to keep some tables free for early walk ins. Even without reservation It's worth to try this during the early evening or later in the evening because there are still rude bad habbit people who made reservation but did not show up and we like to give those tables to nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.