We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, Amsterdam 1015 CA, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $61
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner from Tuesday till Sunday. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore the New International cuisine with the additional respect of the flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking and the use of fresh ingredients. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant look or the trendy deconstructive foam attractions but enjoy our good food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We choose this restaurant to celebrate my wife's special birthday, and booked through our hotel a few days before we arrived in Amsterdam. This was an excellent choice - we were not disappointed! Good menu selection, we went for the taster menu. This was superb, one of the best meals we have had this year. The service and ambience was excellent. We loved the extra touches, as our hotel had obviously tipped them off about my wife's birthday. Yes, we strongly recommend this restaurant without hesitation

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    397
    154
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian outside of Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first visit to this magical city. Truly the Venice of Europe. Our wonderful Dutch friends introduced us to this restaurant. A favorite of theirs. We would never have found it otherwise. Decor was modern, great ambiance and attentive staff. Really worth another visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic compliments. Please try next time also our Interantional (not Indonesian) food. I wonder what you would say about that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Where in Amsterdam for 2 nights and went both nights to here.first night just my wife and me had the taster menu was brilliant service was excellent. Went 2nd night with 2 other couples same great standards and service do yourself a favour and book here Max keep up the good work. Will definitely return when next in Amsterdam

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for coming 2 times in a row in 1 weekend. Thank you a lot for enjoying our restaurant and hope we will meet again here at MAX Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharm el sheikh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked here from trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The ambiance is cosy and vibrant, service was very attentive and friendly and the food tasty with excellent presentation. In one word ''superb". Book as it is very popular and you will have a fantastic feast for the palate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to place this nice review.
Yes, I also like to use Tripadvisor when I'm abroad. It's a good site where you can see what other's experiences are about the ambiance, location, food, staff and price and it's also up to you if you like to share those experiences :-)
Thank you for sharing your Max' experience at Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indonesian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Max's enormously. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was very good. While the prices were a little high for the value, we would probably dine here again. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet Max who is mentioned is so many reviews.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.