We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indonesian outside of Asia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 2,541 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $61
Cuisines: International, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. The food is fresh and sparkling spiced. Good and no nonsense food. Forget the expectation of the days Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian outside of Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first visit to this magical city. Truly the Venice of Europe. Our wonderful Dutch friends introduced us to this restaurant. A favorite of theirs. We would never have found it otherwise. Decor was modern, great ambiance and attentive staff. Really worth another visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic compliments. Please try next time also our Interantional (not Indonesian) food. I wonder what you would say about that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    279
    44
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Where in Amsterdam for 2 nights and went both nights to here.first night just my wife and me had the taster menu was brilliant service was excellent. Went 2nd night with 2 other couples same great standards and service do yourself a favour and book here Max keep up the good work. Will definitely return when next in Amsterdam

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for coming 2 times in a row in 1 weekend. Thank you a lot for enjoying our restaurant and hope we will meet again here at MAX Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharm el sheikh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked here from trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The ambiance is cosy and vibrant, service was very attentive and friendly and the food tasty with excellent presentation. In one word ''superb". Book as it is very popular and you will have a fantastic feast for the palate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to place this nice review.
Yes, I also like to use Tripadvisor when I'm abroad. It's a good site where you can see what other's experiences are about the ambiance, location, food, staff and price and it's also up to you if you like to share those experiences :-)
Thank you for sharing your Max' experience at Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indonesian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Max's enormously. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was very good. While the prices were a little high for the value, we would probably dine here again. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet Max who is mentioned is so many reviews.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited MAX back in October. The service was excellent from the start. I emailed to reserve a table for a Monday night, Max the owner came back straight away to explain he was closed but will be open to friends & if we were happy with only the owner as a waiter we were welcome to join them. What ensued was a night of delicious wine and food & excellent service!! We had the taster menue which I highly recommend! By the end of the night the place was packed as Max was too polite to turn business away!
Already recommended to others!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
What a lovely review. Thanks !
It's true, If there's a possibility we like to welcome our guests with open arms and give a nice table if we still have one. Early walk ins are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.