We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,274 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner from Tuesday till Sunday. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore the New International cuisine with the additional respect of the flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking and the use of fresh ingredients. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant look or the trendy deconstructive foam attractions but enjoy our good food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Bogota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We went last night without reservation and all the personal were very nice... Finally they gave us a table, the food was exclellent and amazing convination of flavours, the desserts OMG!!!! Tks... I recommend the food, service and everything there. I am afraid of indonesian food but in MAX I'll eat again!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    420
    164
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“am913”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a very good meal. The place is modern and light, in a relaxed atmosphere. The staff was very welcome and friendly. The food was delicious. Certainly I will recomend it to friends that come to amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in MAX restaurant.
It is great to read that you were pleased with the food and service.
We will be happy to welcome you and your friends again at MAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Modern Indonesian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We wanted to have an Indonesian dinner during our stay in Amsterdam this summer. Our B&B host recommended Max restaurant, a short walk from our apartment (Singel 96). The décor is contemporary and fresh. We had great service from Max the owner. I had the Risjttafel, which was a great sampling of the menu. I would highly recommend it. My wife and 12 year old son had the 2 course menu. All the dishes were well presented and tasty. The best part is that my 12 year old picky eater now likes Indonesian cuisine! But I doubt we'll find any as good as Max restaurant in the US!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review and hope that we helped creating a new food lover in your family. He's bitten with the food and what a joy ! Hope to see you all again in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still dreaming about my desert.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Quite possibly the best desert I've ever had at a restaurant. It was such elegant combination of Dutch and Indonesian flavors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your dream and I hope for having a new fresh inspiration to build a new dream again to seduce more.
Thinking about a bite in a sweet pear :-)
Thanks again for posting your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In a city that is notable for many things, but (in my opinion) not its food, MAX's stands out as exceptional. When in Amsterdam in 2012 on my birthday I dined here. Now I'm going to be back on my birthday again in 2013 and just made reservations. I have only one night in Amsterdam this time and this is my pick!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for coming back again to MAX restaurant. It's an honor for us. Welcome.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.