We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still dreaming about my desert.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $48 - $58
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still dreaming about my desert.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Quite possibly the best desert I've ever had at a restaurant. It was such elegant combination of Dutch and Indonesian flavors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your dream and I hope for having a new fresh inspiration to build a new dream again to seduce more.
Thinking about a bite in a sweet pear :-)
Thanks again for posting your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    175
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In a city that is notable for many things, but (in my opinion) not its food, MAX's stands out as exceptional. When in Amsterdam in 2012 on my birthday I dined here. Now I'm going to be back on my birthday again in 2013 and just made reservations. I have only one night in Amsterdam this time and this is my pick!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for coming back again to MAX restaurant. It's an honor for us. Welcome.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, friendly service from Max”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the rice table I think it was called, which is Max's version of a taster menu. presented beautifully and all tasted equally as good. It started off with chicken satay with bean sprouts, sugar snap peas and cucumber. Beautiful. We then had a beautifully presented long dish with small dishes of beef and chicken curry, pickles, vegetarian dishes and a sea bass fillet in a banana leaf with rice. Fantastic meal. Max very friendly and attentive. Will be back on our next trip to Amterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Max is a super guy and makes great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Max works really hard to make his guests feel welcome. Not only is the food unique and great but it's a good value. After our meal, Max brought the last few tables a nice glass of wine to finish off a very nice evening. Great scallop appetizer, asparagus and mushroom starter as well were perfect. Tomato salad with buffalo mozzarella was unique and fantastic. Main course of Max's Indonesian chicken was really tasty as was the sea bass wrapped in banana leaf. All was super good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and happy to read that you enjoyed all the different kind of Max' specials food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice cosy restaurant in Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were there on Friday night. Atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice and the service was nothing to complain about. We had a 3 course menu which was really tasty and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.