We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $61
Cuisines: European, Asian, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In a city that is notable for many things, but (in my opinion) not its food, MAX's stands out as exceptional. When in Amsterdam in 2012 on my birthday I dined here. Now I'm going to be back on my birthday again in 2013 and just made reservations. I have only one night in Amsterdam this time and this is my pick!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for coming back again to MAX restaurant. It's an honor for us. Welcome.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, friendly service from Max”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the rice table I think it was called, which is Max's version of a taster menu. presented beautifully and all tasted equally as good. It started off with chicken satay with bean sprouts, sugar snap peas and cucumber. Beautiful. We then had a beautifully presented long dish with small dishes of beef and chicken curry, pickles, vegetarian dishes and a sea bass fillet in a banana leaf with rice. Fantastic meal. Max very friendly and attentive. Will be back on our next trip to Amterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauraelizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Max is a super guy and makes great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Max works really hard to make his guests feel welcome. Not only is the food unique and great but it's a good value. After our meal, Max brought the last few tables a nice glass of wine to finish off a very nice evening. Great scallop appetizer, asparagus and mushroom starter as well were perfect. Tomato salad with buffalo mozzarella was unique and fantastic. Main course of Max's Indonesian chicken was really tasty as was the sea bass wrapped in banana leaf. All was super good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and happy to read that you enjoyed all the different kind of Max' specials food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice cosy restaurant in Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were there on Friday night. Atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice and the service was nothing to complain about. We had a 3 course menu which was really tasty and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and a wee bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was really keen to try the "rice table" on our visit to Amsterdam, as had been recommended it, so after checking the reviews we picked Max, and we weren't disappointed. The restaurant is modern and smaller than I imagined but looks great. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. And the food was delicious, the only reason it wasn't a five star is unfortunately for me I don't eat bean sprouts (in the starter) or cinnamon (in the dessert) all the main courses however were faultless, and the rest of my party loved everything. Highly recommend for a special meal out in Amsterdam

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#