We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Max is a super guy and makes great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,550 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $41 - $49
Cuisines: International, European, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. Fresh and sparkling spiced. Creative but no nonsens food. Forget the expectation of an old fashion Indonesian restaurant or these days trendy Michellin star copy of deconstructive foam and lines attractions on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked food, nice setting and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate room for function for groups.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Max is a super guy and makes great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Max works really hard to make his guests feel welcome. Not only is the food unique and great but it's a good value. After our meal, Max brought the last few tables a nice glass of wine to finish off a very nice evening. Great scallop appetizer, asparagus and mushroom starter as well were perfect. Tomato salad with buffalo mozzarella was unique and fantastic. Main course of Max's Indonesian chicken was really tasty as was the sea bass wrapped in banana leaf. All was super good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and happy to read that you enjoyed all the different kind of Max' specials food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    232
    39
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice cosy restaurant in Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were there on Friday night. Atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice and the service was nothing to complain about. We had a 3 course menu which was really tasty and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and a wee bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was really keen to try the "rice table" on our visit to Amsterdam, as had been recommended it, so after checking the reviews we picked Max, and we weren't disappointed. The restaurant is modern and smaller than I imagined but looks great. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. And the food was delicious, the only reason it wasn't a five star is unfortunately for me I don't eat bean sprouts (in the starter) or cinnamon (in the dessert) all the main courses however were faultless, and the rest of my party loved everything. Highly recommend for a special meal out in Amsterdam

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Duck was outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice early dinner proved to be a good stop and time to visit this restaurant. Started with scallops and caprese salad which were great. Duck was awesome and FULL CONFIT. Husband had Max's Classic which was good, but not very spicy as listed. Moral of the story--get the duck!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for praising the Duck. Happy to read that :-)
Next time (I hope soon) don't be shy to ask for our Indonesian sambal, a spicy paste to make some dish spicier. It's the way to give your personal right level of spicy to your food. Sambal.
Thanks again for your nice review, Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of Indonesia in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Max for dinner on our last evening in Amsterdam based on the reviews from tripadvisor and I must say that the positive reviews are all warranted. We had the Indonesian theee-course dinner for ?35 pp, which started with a delicious salad of bean sprouts, cucumber, sugar peas and chicken satay. The entree was a sharing plate of different meat and vegetable curry dishes and a lemongrass seabass filet with rice. The dishes were flavourful and we were so full that we had to forego dessert! The ambience was warm and the service was friendly. What a great way to end our short visit to Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a good review for our food and service.
We always try to give the right portion and not to serve too much food and usually it works well, but sometimes it can be still a lot. Especially if we give some extra's of those good food :-)
Next time: End your Amsterdam dinner with The Max' banana pie with vanilla ice and coconut rum sauce !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.