We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautiful bar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

When you first arrive at Port Van Cleve it looks like many of the typical Dutch buildings in Amsterdam butwhen you get inside you realise that it is a modern building within an old fronted property. Still it was a friendly, clean and inviting hotel. The reception staff were efficient and helpful. We had room only so I can't comment onthe food, although I was talking to other guests who recommended the steak in the restaurant. The room was small but comfortable, warm and clean. For me the best feature of this hotel was the bar. It is a beautiful large room with fantastic old blue Delft tiles all along the back wall. The Heineken beer tap was also huge and made of Delf pottery and the beer that came out of it was heavenly. The bar staff were very warm and pleasant (unlike some other Amsterdammers) and I could have stayed there all night if I didn't have other things to do. Port Van Cleve is next door to a huge shopping centre for your souvenirs and it is directly behind the Royal Palace on Dam Square. It took me about 10 minutes to walk here from Centraal Station and there is a tram stop right outside if you prefer public transport. I love the location of this hotel. If I was returning for a romantic weekend with my wife I'd probably not stay here but for a functional business room or leisure room this place is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    333
    207
    91
    76
See reviews for
93
410
47
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

At an average of 250 euro per night for a 3 night stay - extremely expensive and overrated by a couple of stars! One saving grace was the bathroom was modern and clean. The decor in the passges to rooms is very "tired" so too is the room furniture way past it's best. We invited friends to dinner in the hotel on the Sunday evening only to be told as we proceeded through that the restraunt was closed (no sign anywhere in the hotel informing us of this). The following night we arrived back and decided to order room service from the printed "room service menu". After being told that they didnt have the first 2 choices we requested, I asked what they did have - the reply was that the hotel actually didnt have anything!!! but we could order pizzas in!!! I must say in the night managers defence, he was as friendly and helful as could be and almost seemed embarassed. Final mornign was a mission too. Having been told on our booking that our card would be charged at the time of booking -this turned out not to be the case and so wished us to pay by card. They initially would not accept a debit card but reluctantly did so once we explained that we did not have a credit card but for some reason would not take our Dutch debit card!!! (up until recently we lived in NL) and to top it all when we complained about the restraunt being closed and not being able to get room service the guy on the reception tried to say that we were wrong and that the restraunt is never closed!!!. This hotel would difinitely be my last choice in Amsterdam in spite of it's great and convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel is situated behind the Royal Palace on Dam Square, with a tram stop at the front door. City centre location makes it an excellent location for everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Although it is not a big, fancy hotel it served me just fine for my 5-day stay there (half business / half leisure).
Nice Restaurant at the lobby for breakfast or any meal during the day along with the "traditional" small Bar at the other side of the Hotel's entrance.
Well positioned with respect to transportation and many sightseeing sites.
Walkable distance (10-15 min.) from the Central RR.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

As the title says, its a great location - central to everything. We stayed there for 4 days, and we can only recommend this hotel IF you get the rooms to a discounted price. It said when we book the hotel, that it would be a 4* hotel, however it should not be rated to more than a 3* hotel. The rooms are old and it seems that no refurbishment of the rooms has ever occurred - besides the toilet, which seemed new'ish...
The worst thing about the rooms in this hotel is that the windows CANNOT be opened, and there are NO Air-condition in the rooms...so the only way to get fresh air is to open the door to the corridor... and that is NOT very nice :-(

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This is in a great location; 5 minutes from Dam Square, 10 minutes from Anne Frank Museum. The Van Gogh museum is further at about a 25 minute walk. Our room was tiny, with barely any room to move around the luggage and beds. There were giant stains on the curtains and light shades, but it didn't bother me enough to ask for another room. Luckily the bathroom was very clean. The people next to us were in a non-smoking room, but were smoking pot every night -- just know that that might happen. Definitely ask for a room away from the street. We were located in the back, but there was still noise from outside. I imagine, though, that it would have been a lot louder out front. Staff was very nice and attentive. Still, great deal considering the price we paid and the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed 5 nights and the first impression of the room was lack of drawer space for storage, only 4 hangers in the closet, nice bathroom but the towels were quite small and thin!(This point diminished the hotel I thought). Tea and coffee provided. Our room overlooked Spuistraat which can be noisy at night as can deliveries and bin men who start early. No air con so open windows sometimes necessary.Internet connection in the room but I used the Wifi in the lobbyL location is very convenient and a short walk to a wide selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.