We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Located just behind Dam square so a great location! Very friendly staff . Room was clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable! Even found English films on TV ! Will definitely visit Amsterdam again and stay at this hotel. Great city , lovely people!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    371
    220
    96
    82
See reviews for
108
445
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Small and dated rooms but clean and comfortable. Good location close to Dam Square and tram service past the front door. Reasonable rates, friendly staff, a supermarket just up the road. We were more than happy with this hotel although the fridge didn't work.

Room Tip: Get an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent a total of nine days in Amsterdam and if I was to return I'd absolutely stay here again, the staff was beyond fantastic the conceige was a true credit to the Hotel.The hotel was right bang in the middle of the famous Damn square and any city information we needed the Hotel staff went out of their way to help us out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel and had a great stay ,you are right next too dam square and many attractions and tram service right outside we could here the trams at night but I personally loved this as it added to the ambiance the hotel is perfectly clean and has a beautiful lobby area ,I would defiantly recommend this hotel the price is great the beds are very comfortable

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a city break from London. Unfortunately for us, it rained more in Amsterdam than it did in London that weekend, but we enjoyed the city despite the weather. The hotel was beautiful. It had new amenities without losing its classic charm. We enjoyed the jacuzzi in our room and the hand painted mugs. The service was wonderful and the front desk were really helpful in terms of sites to see and places to eat. The location is fantastic as it sits across from the central square. An absolute gem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Let's start with due to my stupidity I ended up staying at the Die Port van Cleve because I booked another hotel for the wrong dates!!!!! :(

So I was in a bad mood about losing out on £€$ already!

All that changed when I arrived at the Die Port van Cleve.

Staff on arrival were friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Room was clean, comfortable and light. Bed was very comfortable and the best part were the super heavy, dark curtains which kept the room completely dark in the mornings!! ahh sleep in!!

Bathroom was small but adequate, shower with bathtub and plenty of towels and cloths in bathroom.

There is a gorgeous and comfortable lounge down stair if you'd like a quite space and a lounge chair and also a nice bar and Restaurant down stairs.
Room service available till 11pm

Location of this hotel is fantastic. With many sights, shopping districts, great cafés and restaurants and canals with in short walking distance.

The central train station is maybe 15-20 minutes walking (not hard walk, but can be lots if people as you get closer to the station)
Be careful of pickpockets and thieves near this area too! We were fine but station staff had warned us as we got there.

Free wifi is an absolute bonus when traveling!!

Would be more than happy to stay at this hotel, turns out stuffing up my booking wasn't that bad as I thought!!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room, which overlooked the Main Street.... Great people watching when your looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance to the all locations with the Dam Square. An excellent location for tourist. The tram station is directly in front of the hotel. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and nice. We were upgraded to the room facing the front,which gave a great atmosphere for our holiday in Amsterdam. Definitely will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room facing the front has excellent view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.