We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly situated on Dam Square behind the Royal Palace with a tram stop just outside. We had a huge room on the fourth floor with a roomy well appointed bathroom. When we were there what appeared to be main restaurant was only open for breakfast but the full dinner menu was served in the bar. We prefer to eat outside hotels but in this instance it would have been a mistake. The steaks, of which they are rightly proud, are great but so is everything else. Strangely, given that, breakfast is not worth the 19.5 euros, especially when there are so many excellent alternatives nearby. Try the cafe on the sixth floor of the department store on the opposite corner of the square for views over the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    451
    246
    105
    84
See reviews for
125
528
54
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is located in a fantastic area of Amsterdam. It's close to everything, as everything is within walking distance. The hotel staff was great and very helpful in answering our questions. Our second floor room was very clean and quiet located on the side of a small unusable courtyard. There are elevators in this complex as we had a lot of suitcases having come off a three week Baltic Sea cruise. The doorman was great in helping us move our luggage to our room. Air conditioning worked nicely in our room. The bed has a down blanket which I don't prefer as I can't regulate how warm or cold I want to be. The operations manager, a tall gentleman, (not sure of his title) was very informative regarding activities to do in Amsterdam. We visited his favorite, the Rijksmuseum. This is well worth it. Also, don't miss the Anne Frank House Museum. The line is extremely long, but we purchased our tickets in advance on the internet and entered immediately at our assigned time. There is a free tour of the Red Light District in the evening located by the ice cream shop on the Dam, about a block from the hotel on the left side. This was a lot of fun and very informative. Tips are appreciated by the guide.
There are many good restaurants away from the hotel that are less expensive. Two for breakfast are across the street to the left down about two blocks or so.
Overall, this hotel met all of our expectations and would definitely return here for another Amsterdam vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just spent 5 days at this hotel we stayed in room 220 an excellent front facing room - yes there is a bit of tram noise but that all added to the atmosphere .
We got used to it very quickly and it didn't cause us any issues .

The building is beautiful , historic in an excellent location 30 seconds from Dam square but far enough away from the stag / hen parties .

Absolutely everything is within an easy short walk . The canal area is right behind with beautiful coffee bars.

Every area of the hotel was clean and the bedrooms cleaned daily .

I would highly recommend this hotel for people who want the quieter more refined side of a city break , relaxed and an excellent experience .
The restaurant is renowned for its steaks , booking a table would be good . The food standard is great and nearly 6 million steaks sold can't be bad .
My wife and I would definitely stay again .


The rooms described as small by some guests is I would have thought in character with the type of building .

The breakfast area and quality of food is certainly 5* .

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We can highly recommend a stay at this hotel. Its location is as central as you could possibly get with dam square just across the road and the canals behind. Our room was very clean and the bed sooooo comfy. Breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of options to cater for all. Overall we give the hotel a big thumbs up..we would definately stay here again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went here with my boyfriend back in Febraury 2013, it was a christmas present for myself, we went with another couple. When first arriving we literally went straight to a coffee shop just to try some stuff out because we couldn't check into our hotel? After smoking an little bit of weed, we were in a bit of a daze and were standing right outside our hotel but didn't know because there was scaffholdings all infront of it! After entering and checking in, we were asked to sign a no smoking form which is weird because I have never seen a form for no smoking, which made us feel a bit odd because obviously we'd just come from a coffee shop!

The hotel was just average, nothing really special about it, it's good but I could find better. Location is very good as the square is just across the road so it didn't take long. They were very helpful with getting us a cab to make our way home. If you are a couple and looking for a romantic hotel, I suggest looking into the Toren, our friends stayed there and it was so lovely, I was so jealous! But nothing really too bad to say about this hotel, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Located close to the central station and city center. A bit noisy from the street outside since the tram stops just outside the hotel. Nice and clean rooms. The staff was a bit uninterested at times but they were good at answering questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a decent hotel with a good standard. Great location for getting around in the Dam. It's not far from the Central Station (trains to and from Schipol), walking distance, about 15 minutes. The only problem I had with it is that the rooms are way to small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.