We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab and central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a lovely little hotel, and very centrally based. Train station about a 7 minute walk, and the trams stop directly outside. Dam square is right on your doorstep too. We did not eat in the restaurant, as there are so many little bars and restaurants along the pretty canals to choose from. The room was clean, and ample, with private bathroom. The staff are incredibly friendly and you only have to let them know your not happy. We however were very happy, with the hotel. We do not need a large room, just a base that is clean with great staff and thats what we got. Loved everything about this hotel. Breakfast has something for everyone, fruit, cooked, cereals etc. Even though this is right on top of the tourist areas, i found this reasonably quiet. Would definitely return to Amsterdam and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    371
    220
    96
    82
See reviews for
108
445
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

You can walk to the hotel from centraal station with wheeled luggage. A taxi driver seemed reluctant to take us! The central location means that many tourist sights are easy to get to and trams pass the door for more distant visits. The room was small but well equipped, clean quiet.
The full restaurant menu was available in the bar midweek. Food was interesting and good quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with two of my friends and we were not disappointed. Great location, great staff and a great breakfast buffet! The quality is fantastic room was rather spacious with large bathroom and great views over the city streets. Perfect for business or pleasure travellers alike. Very highly recommended!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Die Port van Cleve is located in a great part of town. We were able to walk to and from the train station, as well as Dam Square, and the Red Light District. The front of house staff were helpful, but my friend and I were a bit confused about the cleaning services. The first day we didn't want our room cleaned and put the "do not disturb" sign up, but it was cleaned anyways. Then, our trash was never emptied and was overflowing by the end of our four day trip.

Besides that, the hotel is also near two popular landmarks and off the tram, which makes it easy to locate on the map. A great area to wander is behind the hotel where you can a liquor store, cafe/bar, cheese and chocolate stores. It's also located close to the Anne Frank House and Royal Church which are two very popular destinations.

Overall my friend and I (two women) agreed it was a great stay for the cost and we both felt safe staying in the area and had a wonderful time in the city. The location was the best part, and of course the history of the hotel is impressive (even mentioned in the Heineken Experience).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great hotel, brilliant location. Staff very friendly and helpful. When they realised it was a birthday group they brought champagne to my room, and also gave all 8 of us a drink on the house. Rooms cleaned every day. Would definately stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small, rooms with a few steps down are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times as it's in a great central location. The staff are always very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are noisy on street side so best to get one at the back of the hotel. The restaurant is very good and offer up some interesting Dutch options I have never seen elsewhere. The rooms at the back are quiet and very clean. This hotel is easily reached from the Central Station (about 15 minutes) and across the street from the Royal Palace and many other attractions. Not the cheapest in Amsterdam but excellent location makes up for it.

Room Tip: Good business centre in the hotel for emails, photocopying services, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this very good hotel. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The room was one of their excellent business suites and it gave us all we needed (their website claimed 'has wonderful views over the city' but if you wish to book one of these just make sure it does because ours was only on 1st floor and didn't). Excellent location opposite the palace and the New Church, just over the road from Dam Square. Frequent trams right outside, but easy walking distance to many of the major attractions of Amsterdam. Breakfast was good quality and as much as anyone could want. We didn't try the restaurant as there were many charming pavement cafe's on the canals nearby. If revisiting Amsterdam we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.