We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We've just come back from a few days staying here for our wedding anniversary. We arrived quite late on in the day but the staff were warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We did just book a standard room, but as I'd mentioned on the booking form that we were there celebrating an occasion, they had upgraded us. Our room was lovely and spacious with a super king size bed and a massive jacuzzi in the beautifully sized bathroom. We also had complimentary dressing gowns and slippers. We'd hardly started to unpack, when there was a knock at the door and there was the lovely lady from reception with two glasses of champagne. Such a wonderful start to our stay. We enjoyed our stay here very much. It's in a fabulous position. Close to all the attractions and the many wonderful bars and little restaurants. The rooms are spotlessly clean and fresh bedding and towels every day. This place is definitely worth a visit and we wouldn't hesitate to visit there again next year. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    382
    226
    96
    82
See reviews for
111
452
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Location is superb - walking distance to pretty much everything, including Central Station, the palace square, red light, Anne Frank, churches, canals, museums... everything! It's a block removed from the palace square, so you have all of the convenience of being close but with none of the noise. Several tram lines (great system, liked it much better than subways despite my initial doubts) go right in front of the hotel and make it even more convenient to get to farther away spots. Hotel room itself was surprisingly spacious, especially for a European hotel, and comfortable. Nothing particularly fancy or lavish, but it was nice, functional, and clean. As other reviewers have said, most of the decorating effort went into the common areas, which have nice dark wood furniture and display original Delft blue porcelain items (same motif used with prints to decorate the rooms) that are worth a look. We did not eat or drink at the hotel given the huge range of nearby options, but it looked nice and probably would have been good. The Corner House (across the street) has good Dutch pancakes in the morning for breakfast, and Trappist beer on tap (just 5 euros) for later.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in 2009 and enjoyed our stay. BUT...this stay...not so. Not only was one of the male front desk staff rude twice but you wouldn't believe the room they gave us. It was off the first floor (which is the 2nd in America), We couldn't find it at first and then discovered a narrow spiral set of steps down a coupy hole. I thought it might have been a storage closet at first. My husband 6'2" and average built...Hiis shoulders touched on each wall. The steps spiraled down and there was little room to put your feet because of the spiral and the narrowness of it. We met two other couples down there and we were all shocked at the offering of these rooms. Imagine us trying to get our luggage up and down those closed in steps, not to mention ourselves. We are somewhat elderly and it was a chore. While Die Port Van Cleve has a great location in Amsterdam, we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Die Port can Cleve is located just a block away from the central square and right next to a big mall. It is a walking distance away from the central railway station. At the same time you can find the most beautiful channels in the city only a heartbeat away.
The hotel it self is biggish, but you can still have the great feeling of tightness in corners and stairs. That feeling, combined with the channels, is the essence of Amsterdam, in my humble opinion. Don't worry: the elevator works fine as well!
Rooms are quite small, but that is what you can expect in this kind of center-located hotel. Breakfast table was more than plentiful and the service admirable. If you can find a room with a decent price, I warmly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View from inner yard -sided rooms isn't too mindblowing, but it's definitely quieter, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After straightening out the staff issuing us the wrong room (paid for deluxe room, initally got a standard room) we enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room overlooked the street directly in front of the hotel. Location is superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

On arrival the hotel is situated in easy reach of Dam Square right by the Palace with easy reach of several attractions which we observed from a short tram ride from the station. The reception was very clean and smart looking with all the old photos and delft pottery and history of the hotel as it was the oldest brewery many years ago . The staff on reception spoke perfect English as do nearly all the staff ,the receptionist's were dressed impeccably, and was so polite and took time to help in any way with information to help us on several occasions. The room was fantastic with views of the palace and the main street ,the room had everything we needed from tea and coffee and water , comfortable bed and chair's ,plenty of space in the built in wardrobe ,free safe , flat screen TV . The bathroom was big with double shower built into the bath and was spotless the cleaners done a very good job ,The restaurant served continental breakfast and was very nice ,the catering staff , bar staff are really pleased to see you and take time to make sure everything is OK and will go out of there way to help ,Overall my stay was fantastic and we Will return to the hotel and have the large double upgrade as its well worth the price and you can have a smaller room with the same standard but on a smaller scale and price. Staying here made my trip to Amsterdam and I can't thank the staff enough for being so nice and help full.Thank You ,Rob and Rachel

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room to a large if staying a few days or more,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

6 nights at this Hotel - swift and pleasant check in, friendly and efficient. Baggage taken up to our room. Tram from Centraal Station stops right outside the Hotel entrance, so the location is fabulous and very central. Our bed was a problem, and no questions asked, we were moved to another room, and all our luggage was moved for us while we were out for the day - all done with a smile!! The concierge was most obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Perhaps the beds could be replaced and were a little tired! But would I stay again? Yes

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.