We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location! Lovely rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top location! Lovely rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My fiancé and I decided to book this last minute and we couldn't have asked for a better location! Just a few moments from Dam Square/Shops/Anne Frank. The staff were really helpful and the free Wifi was a lifesaver when our phones couldn't get a signal. The only downside was that the water was off for a little bit of our day but by the time we got back to our room it was fixed! The room was really clean and the shower was good. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darahgna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is excellently placed for many attractions, Anne Frank House is less than 10 minutes away, Dam Square is on the doorstep. The hotel has a tram stop right outside that servers a main route directly to the Museum Quarter, fast and regular service.
The breakfasts were quite good, we went with it included , and it set us up for the day. The rooms were a little quirky, but clean and adequate for our needs. It was a little noisy at night, we were on the side, so I'm not sure how it would have been at the front.
The staff are excellent. The batman in the hotel bar was excellent and really helped us with useful tips for restaurants, travel etc. and the Concierge was wonderful too.
I would stay at the hotel again as it is so well placed for Central Station ( 8 minutes away towing a case) and is surrounded by so much to see. It is away from the red light district too, is great for families.

Room Tip: Go for a side room or one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My daughter and I got rooms here at the last minute and could not believe our luck in getting a wonderful, quite room. Everything about this hotel fits our needs. Clean, safe, updated, good size rooms and a good price. I have paid more for less. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is perfect nothing is more than a 10 min walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMH923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location of the is excellent, as it is located right behind the Dam Square and conveniently with easy access to public transport, with the tram and bus stop being just in front of hotel. We stayed here from 3rd-6th April and were given room 605 which is actually a suite therefore the room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. During our stay here we experienced wonderful Dutch hospitality; the staffs are ever friendly and really very helpful which made our stay totally pleasant. Places to eat around the hotel is plentiful, with choices ranging from traditional Dutch to fast food to choose from, which is also the reason why we didn't try out the hotel restaurant but we did try 'Jenever' at the hotel bar, Bar-Bodega-Blauwe-Parade. The bar is decorated with delft blue tile fresco which adds a classy touch to the hotel environment, and we had the ever friendly bartender explaining to us the variety of 'Jenever' available. Overall, this hotel is highly recommended and this would definitely be the hotel of my choice in Amsterdam the next time around.

Room Tip: If possible try to request for rooms in Level 6 but it is subject to availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed long weekend 4th-7th April - Room 324 - very clean, comfortable bed - only fault with room is that it was a bit dark due to small, low window but this was probably due to design of older building - clean hotel and nice welcome at reception and always greeted when you arrived back into hotel or came from your room. Didn't eat in hotel as there are lots of places to eat in Amsterdam but the bar was nice and barman was friendly. Overall lovely hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 324 looked out onto main street at front of hotel and was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oakwood-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A few days ago I came back from Amsterdam, I stayed at the hotel Die Port van Cleve. I think that hotel is adequate 4 stars. Room 525 was standard, bathroom with tub and shower, soap, shampoo. Street off. There was a kettle, tea, coffee, sugar, creamer. LCD was new, but only one English tv channel BBC worked. There were German, Dutch TV channels.
We did not book breakfast because it is quite expensive - 19 euros, but if you pre-book breakfast it costs 15 euros.
Once we returned in the afternoon and saw that our door was being renovated. Lock was completely replaced by new because the old lock did not close automatically. The work was done quickly and efficiently.
On arriving we were asked to pay a deposit of 100 euros and city taxes, for 5 nights it was about the 27 euros. When checking out, I gave a receipt and my deposit was given me back. I asked to print my boarding passes and the receptionist helped me.

Room Tip: Ask for room street off. There are many transport near this hotel. Nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadezda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for a Hen Party in March, location fab, a 10 minute walk from Central Station and just across from Dam Square with a tram stop right outside - and renowned Supperclub literally a couple of miutes walk away!

The rooms we had were for 3 adults and were a really decent size with double fold out sofa for 3 person, hairdryers were a no go though, so definitely bring your own. And we had to be moved to an internal room as the traffic noise at the back of the hotel (we were on the 1st floor initially) was so bad it kept us awake all night on the first night.

Staff were really helpful and friendly, good to book trips through hotel concierge as proved a little cheaper and cut queues. Breakfast was fab (included in price).

All in all a decent hotel, really well located - would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing