We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another super stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another super stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just back from another great weekend in Amsterdam. Are you looking for a hotel in a central location, within walking distance of everything worth seeing and everything worth doing? Look no further than the Die Port Van Cleve. Excellent hotel, very friendly staff and lovely rooms(especially room 120). Lovely restaurant and bar. We will be back again soon. Thanks Die Port Van Cleve for looking after us again.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    381
    224
    96
    82
See reviews for
111
452
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

my friend and I booked this hotel due to the location and also as it was 4 star. The hotel is within walking distance of all the tourist attractions, museums, coffee shops etc. They offered smoking or non-smoking at time of booking and we opted for a smoking room. Upon arrival we were informed that the whole hotel is non-smoking, We were offered a premium room for an additional 20 euros per night, we took this as we thought we would treat ourselves and also the room came with a balcony. When we opened the door to our room we had to walk down some stairs and the room was very small. The balcony could only fit 1 person as long as they don't move. We decided to get our money back and just take the standard room as the other just was not worth the extra money. The twin beds were side by side so it looked more like a double. We were moved to a standard room but we had to walk to the end of the corridor, through a door which looked like the service area! we saw a room in front of us and we were shocked but that was not our room, instead we had to walk down a very steep, slippy, spiral metal staircase to get to our room! When it rained, the water leaked onto the stairs so you had to be very careful not to slip. We did not feel as though we were in the hotel, we flt like we were sleeping in the staff quarters. The hotel was clean but staff were not friendly. Only one gentleman on reception (can't remember his name) was polite and friendly. We had 2 very small mugs and no milk only powdered creamer. We called reception to ask for some coffee on our third day, the girl brought it to our room but was very rude and told us next time come and get it ourselves at reception or we will be charged! I do not usually have any reason to complain about hotels but felt I needed to on this occasion as this is not what you expect from a 4 star hotel. The good thing was we got the hotel on an advance purchase rate so the cost was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: Before you arrive, contact the hotel and demand you get a room allocated in an area where rooms shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice hotel at a very good location. City centre is within walking distance, you have the tram right outside the entrance and a easy spot to take off by taxi.

I would recommend to reserve a room that doesn't have windows facing the street outside. It could be a little noisy if you have problems with your sleep.

Overall I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I would recommend to reserve a room that doesn't have windows facing the street outside. It coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked the hotel online, excellent location for everything in Amsterdam. Reception staff are really helpful, especially Laura... Breakfast at €22 a bit pricy but was very good. We had room 109 which was quiet at night. Would recommend it.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, in the very centre, you can easily find everything. From the outside, hotel looks much better than inside. Rooms are so so, but clean and well maintained .
I would recommend it anyhow.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Only stayed one night, but reception very friendly, hotel attractive, interesting, clean, traditional touches. Location perfect, central for most things.

Best Waffles for breakfast with Cherries ever!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.