We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is great and unbelievable value at under £50 per night. The staff were wonderful, especially the cleaners who tucked up our 2-year-old daughter's toy monkey in her cot, much to our daughter's delight! I would have given the hotel an excellent rating, however, we found the room very noisy at it was on a main road. I would stay again but would ask for a room facing the back, if that is a possibility.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    330
    207
    90
    75
See reviews for
91
409
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just had a one night stay but found the hotel to be in a fantastic location. 10 minutes walk from central station. Great rooms, bathrooms, bar and breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again... hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at Die Port van Cleve & I would strongly recommend it. The staff, in particular A. Karim & Simon were brilliant, so helpful with information but also extremely kind to our 19 month old daughter,showing her reception & chatting to her (giving us 5 minutes peace!)
Our room (501) was perfect, a large L shape, very quiet and very clean. Plenty of tea/coffee and also a small fridge, perfect for milk etc. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of shower gels etc.The travel cot was great quality.
Breakfast was great, good bacon/scrambled egg/smoked salmon/ in the help yourself hot section. various cheeses/meats/fruit/breads/cakes in the cold & good supply of fruit juices/tea/coffee. Restaurant a very attractive wood panelled room again with lovely staff.
The bar area is just lovely, really old cosy style with good wine/beers E9 for a wine & a beer & cheaper than many other bars.
The location was perfect..5-10 min walk to central station, across the road from Dam sq and 5 mins in the other direction to Ann Frank & museum Loads of restaurants up & down the road..Dutch/Italian/Asian etc and a great supermarket 2 min walk away.
Amsterdam is pretty hectic & with a 19 month old child even more so...walking into this hotel was a relief & a little oasis of peace where we felt the staff were genuinely caring & helpful to us.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back & it was very quiet. If you are travelling with a baby check they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights december 14 for business trip - only 12 minutes walk to the Central Station and close to city center with bars and restoraunts. Rooms was super small and really old. I think for 200$ you can find better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salfords, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited here over Easter in 2013. Bit annoying at the time as there was scaffolding covering the front of the building but that wasn't an issue. Nice staff in reception, really clean room and bathroom. Had a standard double, bed was really cosy and comfy. The location is the best bit about this hotel. It is in a quiet area so sleeping is fine but very close to alot! Dam square is literally over the road, coffeeshops down the road, places to eat all around it. Ended up having breakfast at the cafe over the road which was really tasty and not v. Expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is perfectly positioned near Dam Square. The hotel is located 5-10 minutes from Central Station. So, if you do not have a lot of luggage it's very easy to walk to. If you do have a lot of luggage or you just don't feel like walking, there is a tram that will drop you right off right in front of the the hotel. The hotel staff is very nice. The check in process was fast and efficient. My room was on the fourth floor. The room was very spacious. The biggest room I had while in Europe. My room had a split level design which I liked. The bathroom was on the left and was right there as soon as you walk in the room. It was a good size. It had everything in it you would expect a three-four star hotel to have(lotions,shampoo,towels,etc). There was also a wardrobe or armoire with a mini fridge built into on the top level. There was also a safe in the wardrobe. The wardrobe was really big you could fit an entire families luggage and clothes into it.On the lower level, there were two twin beds put together as one bed. The bed was comfortable. There was a desk with a flat screen tv on the wall. My room had a small window with a view of the church. The room was dark with okay lighting but I preferred it because it made the room more relaxing. The wifi worked perfectly in the room. There is a restaurant in the hotel but I did not try it. The location is amazing so their are so many places to walk to an eat. I would stay again and again just for the location. I really don't have anything negative to say about the hotel. I was charged a city tax that wasn't charged when I booked the hotel. I knew this when I booked the hotel but just putting that out there so your not surprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Best hotel in Amsterdam! Came here over Christmas for our second visit to this hotel and will come back to this hotel each and every time we visit.

Brilliant location - so close to everything - walking distance to Rembrant Square, Leidsplein Square, Train station and located on Dam Square.

Best thing about this hotel is the staff! They are super friendly and so helpful! I wish I'd got the staff's names who checked us in as they were amazing! It was around 11am Christmas Eve - a guy and a girl. They were both so friendly and before we even asked, the girl got out a map and asked us where we wanted to go during our stay and she'd mark it on the map for us! Brilliant service!

I also love the rooms. Stayed in room 120 (wow) and room 603 (equally wow) this time. Both rooms amazing! Definitely worth upgrading from a standard room to an executive room! Room 120 has the benefit of an amazing massive bathroom with a jacuzzi!! Room 603, along with the other executive rooms, has the benefit of a massive flat screen tv at the end of the bed!

The hotel itself is really pretty too. Very peaceful and relaxing stay but close enough to go out for nightlife if wanted. If you're going out in heels, I'd suggest getting the tram (from right outside the hotel) to any of the other squares. Otherwise, it's only a 7 (approx) minute walk with some nice views along the way. Supermarket close by too. There's no point me telling you where everything is as the staff will help you with everything!

Would recommend hard rock cafe for food! Great value and amazing food there! Great atmosphere too!

Will hopefully be returning soon!

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.