We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay - Brilliant once again! Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2nd Stay - Brilliant once again! Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Best hotel in Amsterdam! Came here over Christmas for our second visit to this hotel and will come back to this hotel each and every time we visit.

Brilliant location - so close to everything - walking distance to Rembrant Square, Leidsplein Square, Train station and located on Dam Square.

Best thing about this hotel is the staff! They are super friendly and so helpful! I wish I'd got the staff's names who checked us in as they were amazing! It was around 11am Christmas Eve - a guy and a girl. They were both so friendly and before we even asked, the girl got out a map and asked us where we wanted to go during our stay and she'd mark it on the map for us! Brilliant service!

I also love the rooms. Stayed in room 120 (wow) and room 603 (equally wow) this time. Both rooms amazing! Definitely worth upgrading from a standard room to an executive room! Room 120 has the benefit of an amazing massive bathroom with a jacuzzi!! Room 603, along with the other executive rooms, has the benefit of a massive flat screen tv at the end of the bed!

The hotel itself is really pretty too. Very peaceful and relaxing stay but close enough to go out for nightlife if wanted. If you're going out in heels, I'd suggest getting the tram (from right outside the hotel) to any of the other squares. Otherwise, it's only a 7 (approx) minute walk with some nice views along the way. Supermarket close by too. There's no point me telling you where everything is as the staff will help you with everything!

Would recommend hard rock cafe for food! Great value and amazing food there! Great atmosphere too!

Will hopefully be returning soon!

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    368
    244
    112
    78
See reviews for
88
398
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Check in was fast and smooth. However breakfast is pretty pricey, if I stay here again I'd give breakfast a pass as there are TONS of bakeries around the hotel that are much cheaper. Rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great location and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the start of December for a mini break. The location is fantastic, near to all the local attractions, good bus and tram service and the railway station is within walking distance so if you do not have much luggage there is no need for a taxi. We were upgraded to a superior room which was very nice. The beds were really comfortable and the room was very clean and certainly roomy. Good breakfast. We travelled with jet2 and when we arrived at Amsterdam airport sadly our cases did not arrive with us. We waited for quite a while with another eight or more couples who also were on our flight and awaiting the arrival of their suitcases which did not arrive. We were told to leave our details and we would be contacted once they have located all the missing suitcases. By this time we had already lost well over 3 hours at the airport. We made our way to the hotel but this had obviously spoilt the start to our mini break. We waited nearly all day for a call from the airport and we had also tried to phone them anyway with the help of the hotel staff which I cannot thank enough and especially Laura and Norah who were fantastic we eventually got our suitcases back at 10.30 that evening but we had to collect them ourselves from the airport as Jet2 said it was not there policy to deliver suitcases to hotels even though it was their airline that had lost them. I of course was very stressed about it all. So we would just like to say a special big thank you to Laura and Norah who made our stay at the hotel a very pleasant one they were so helpful thank you girls. We would definitely recommend this hotel and when we return to Amsterdam but not with Jet2 we will definitely stay at this hotel again. Excellent all round.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room which was at the front and had a good view onto the Main Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Located in the Dam Square area and with easy access to local attractions and public transport it is located conveniently. However, the rooms are noisy and small. The noise is a combination of groaning timber frame construction (which amplifies every step made by your neighbors and the staff) and street noise, which varies in intensity throughout the day. The rooms are small and with few amenities. The heating system was impossible to use and we found ourselves sleeping in long underwear more than once. Nonetheless, I would return here again as the staff was excellent and the location ideal for us. However, I would ask for a room facing Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal, and not the street behind, if available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal to avoid evening and early morning bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, we found it with ease and it is walking distance from the train station and Anne Frank's house. It's right by Dam Square and a tram stop. There are plenty if cafés and restaurants near by. The rooms are small but who spends that much time in a hotel room anyway!? The hotel and bar had lots of character and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel too highly. It is a beautiful place with delightful and skilled staff, who all try very hard to keep their guests happy. It would be my favourite on a return to Amsterdam. I can only say that I have no hesitation in strongly recommending it. Professor Frederick Toates, Milton Keynes, UK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for few nights over the weekend and our stay was made complete by the fantastic customer service - jugs of cold milk brought to our room for cups of tea, provision of travel adaptor plugs, and warm and welcoming staff.

The hotel is full of history, charm and the character of the old building has been well preserved and restored by the owners. Although our room was small, it was well equipped with a powerful shower, an adequate hair dryer and again, charming character. It did get very warm during the night but that's probably our own doing for not utilising the air conditioning.

The location of the hotel adjacent to Dam Square is ideal for exploring and is a ten minute walk down Damrak from Grand Central station.

Would recommend for a short exploring break such as our own. Pancakes! on Bernstadt is a must!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.