We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located but not without compromises” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, Amsterdam 1012 SJ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Centrally located but not without compromises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Located in the Dam Square area and with easy access to local attractions and public transport it is located conveniently. However, the rooms are noisy and small. The noise is a combination of groaning timber frame construction (which amplifies every step made by your neighbors and the staff) and street noise, which varies in intensity throughout the day. The rooms are small and with few amenities. The heating system was impossible to use and we found ourselves sleeping in long underwear more than once. Nonetheless, I would return here again as the staff was excellent and the location ideal for us. However, I would ask for a room facing Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal, and not the street behind, if available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal to avoid evening and early morning bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    340
    233
    106
    76
See reviews for
81
361
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, we found it with ease and it is walking distance from the train station and Anne Frank's house. It's right by Dam Square and a tram stop. There are plenty if cafés and restaurants near by. The rooms are small but who spends that much time in a hotel room anyway!? The hotel and bar had lots of character and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel too highly. It is a beautiful place with delightful and skilled staff, who all try very hard to keep their guests happy. It would be my favourite on a return to Amsterdam. I can only say that I have no hesitation in strongly recommending it. Professor Frederick Toates, Milton Keynes, UK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for few nights over the weekend and our stay was made complete by the fantastic customer service - jugs of cold milk brought to our room for cups of tea, provision of travel adaptor plugs, and warm and welcoming staff.

The hotel is full of history, charm and the character of the old building has been well preserved and restored by the owners. Although our room was small, it was well equipped with a powerful shower, an adequate hair dryer and again, charming character. It did get very warm during the night but that's probably our own doing for not utilising the air conditioning.

The location of the hotel adjacent to Dam Square is ideal for exploring and is a ten minute walk down Damrak from Grand Central station.

Would recommend for a short exploring break such as our own. Pancakes! on Bernstadt is a must!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

we returned from a 6 nights vacation in amserdam at the die port van cleve hotel.
there are no words to express our vacation. we were my husband and i with our 13 years old daugther.
the room was very big. the bathroom was also huge. the mirror was very specail with led lighting inside the mirror.
the room service was eficient. the royal palace and the church are opposite the hotel but we were like kings at the breakfast room. the breakfast had many kinds of fresh fruit, vegetables, several saussages, several chease, many kinds of rolls and bread, few kinds of coffee,. each table had a nice lamp and the staff.... so kind and helpfull and we spoke with karim, kay, and all of the others were so friendly.
the hotel can not be more better located than it is. one minitue walk and you are in dam sq and one min to the right and you have a food plaza supermaket with good prices and we took there water, apples ece.
i defintly recommend this hotel and come back.

Room Tip: we had room 325 to the street but we did not hear the tram at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very handy for sightseeing, shopping and restaurants. It is comfortable, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar was particularly nice, with good ambiance. We wanted to visit the Ann Frank House, but unfortunately we were unable to book on-line before we left as it was fully booked and when we got there, the queues were unbelievable so we didn't get to see it. Next time we will book far in advance to going

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Die Port van Cleve is simply in the center of Amsterdam, couple of minutes walking from the impressive Dam square.
We had a very nice room, very spacious, with a lovely view of the main street: however, other standard rooms are smaller and the view is reduced to the internal courtyard.
Toilets are bit dated, but the hotel is quite clean overall. The staff is kind and we did not experience any problem.
Good value for money compared with the high prices of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms by the main street are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, Amsterdam 1012 SJ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.