We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very handy for sightseeing, shopping and restaurants. It is comfortable, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar was particularly nice, with good ambiance. We wanted to visit the Ann Frank House, but unfortunately we were unable to book on-line before we left as it was fully booked and when we got there, the queues were unbelievable so we didn't get to see it. Next time we will book far in advance to going

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breck_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Die Port van Cleve is simply in the center of Amsterdam, couple of minutes walking from the impressive Dam square.
We had a very nice room, very spacious, with a lovely view of the main street: however, other standard rooms are smaller and the view is reduced to the internal courtyard.
Toilets are bit dated, but the hotel is quite clean overall. The staff is kind and we did not experience any problem.
Good value for money compared with the high prices of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms by the main street are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdysseusZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel before and so were fully aware of the close proximity to central station and dam square. We emailed the hotel to see about trams and were kindly given the information that we needed and also were happy to jump on the tram after an early flight!

Upon arrival a lovely receptionist greeted us warmly. As we had stayed before we were told we had been upgraded to an executive suite. Fab! So we checked in and we must say out room was very large great view of the roof tops. Separate toilet and bathroom - which also had a large jacuzzi bath - very nice touch. Our bed was king sized and very comfy. Nice large flat screen tv and desk and seating area. The wifi reception on was great for our room also. We had a free safe and also a fridge - not stocked though. Rooms decorated in white and blue Delph style.

Maid service wAs efficient and very good each day of our stay with our bathroom products being replenished also. We had room service which was very quick and also tasty as was the champagne! Rather reasonably priced for a city centre. We had a buffet breakfast and I must say it was one of the best stocked that I have had of late. Breads meats cheeses cereals coffees juice yoghurt pancakes preserves cold fresh fruit and also bacon scrambled and boiled eggs bacon sausage toast baked beans - was very fresh and very tasty. Served at a civilised hour as well 7-11 weekend and 7-1030 on week days.

All in all a great trip and we are planning our next visit and yes, it will be back to this hotel ! Thanks !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mad_ed_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnei yehuda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel is in excellent location, just behind Dam Sq. and 10 minutes walking from central train station. We were upgraded to a twin executive, which had 2 single beds and a window to an interior shaft. The executive room is on average size, so i guess the lower categories are rather small. Breakfast is good. free wifi is fast enough for mobile apps and mails. we asked for a late check out (1 pm instead of noon) and were told it is possible for a supplement of 5 Euro, which felt a bit petty. i think that if the room is available for another hour, its decent to give it free of charge.
staff are very friendly in general.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YoniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed for couple of night in this hotel in october, while the reception is lovely and the location is good, the room was very dark with a small window and too simple for the price you pay.
mind you the coffee shop on the corner is nice and cosy, but yet the service is average

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed in room 111 a single that was rather "tight" with a view across a short roof space to the next block just 6 metre away. I did see inside room 105 the other side of the corridor which was a twin over looking the street and looked much nicer.
The hotel has an older family feel about it for those travellers like me who do not like the large in personable international type hotel chains.
The room was clean, comfortable bed and the hotel communal areas were "cosy"
The breakfast there was adequate.
Centrally positioned it is in a great place to see the city. I took a transfer bus from the airport to the hotel. The bus normally has several stops at other hotels on the way and gives a great tour of the city on route. Cost one way Euro 16.50

Room Tip: 105 a twin overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We are two adults & 3 children travelling together "We Loved this place".. The staff are a true asset here we were greated enthusiastically with wonderful hospitality..nothing was to much trouble,loved the shower & the coziness of the rooms.talk about Location Slap bam in the middle of everything..yet still able to sleep! & the breakfast was very "yummy"..would love to visit again so warm & inviting :))....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tareis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing