We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
bnei yehuda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel is in excellent location, just behind Dam Sq. and 10 minutes walking from central train station. We were upgraded to a twin executive, which had 2 single beds and a window to an interior shaft. The executive room is on average size, so i guess the lower categories are rather small. Breakfast is good. free wifi is fast enough for mobile apps and mails. we asked for a late check out (1 pm instead of noon) and were told it is possible for a supplement of 5 Euro, which felt a bit petty. i think that if the room is available for another hour, its decent to give it free of charge.
staff are very friendly in general.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    322
    206
    88
    74
See reviews for
88
400
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed for couple of night in this hotel in october, while the reception is lovely and the location is good, the room was very dark with a small window and too simple for the price you pay.
mind you the coffee shop on the corner is nice and cosy, but yet the service is average

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed in room 111 a single that was rather "tight" with a view across a short roof space to the next block just 6 metre away. I did see inside room 105 the other side of the corridor which was a twin over looking the street and looked much nicer.
The hotel has an older family feel about it for those travellers like me who do not like the large in personable international type hotel chains.
The room was clean, comfortable bed and the hotel communal areas were "cosy"
The breakfast there was adequate.
Centrally positioned it is in a great place to see the city. I took a transfer bus from the airport to the hotel. The bus normally has several stops at other hotels on the way and gives a great tour of the city on route. Cost one way Euro 16.50

Room Tip: 105 a twin overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We are two adults & 3 children travelling together "We Loved this place".. The staff are a true asset here we were greated enthusiastically with wonderful hospitality..nothing was to much trouble,loved the shower & the coziness of the rooms.talk about Location Slap bam in the middle of everything..yet still able to sleep! & the breakfast was very "yummy"..would love to visit again so warm & inviting :))....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great spot to stay in Amsterdam - once we arrived in the train station we walked everywhere we needed to go including to this hotel from there. It is right by Dam Square which if you ever get lost anyone would be able to point you to. The wifi is good and no extra charge the breakfast has a great selection. The staff are very very helpful especially the nice gentelman concierge working in main reception, He knew directions to everywhere in the city and gave us discounts voucher for some of the attractions in Amsterdam. Our room was a little on the small side but we spent so little time there this was not an issue. We plan another trip to Amsterdam in the summer with some family and we hope to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a great hotel conveniently located in the heart of downtown with a metro station right outside. The food was good and there was a nice variety for breakfast in the morning. A nice little pub attached to the hotel made it perfect for finishing off the evening with a cold beer or a warm coffee and Bailey's.

Although our room was small, it was clean, quiet and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. They were always willing to call us a taxi or help us out with questions regarding local attractions.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice quiet place to call home while checking out the sights of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for 4 nights and found this hotel to be centrally located close to all aminities and my room was spacious enough for my needs. The room was clean, we'll-maintained and had everything g I needed. Well worth a try when you go to Amsterdam! The staff are all friendly and can assist you with any query. I will stay there again if I have to go that way.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are on the inside, not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.