We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Another stunning hotel in a great location. Right on Dam Square. This is one of the more expensive hotels, but worth the money. Always use this hotel when traveling to Amsterdam with my girlfriend.

Just behind the Royal Palace and right next to a great shopping centre Magna Carter.

Great service and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    353
    212
    92
    77
See reviews for
101
428
48
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been remiss in not reviewing this hotel sooner, and I am very unhappy that I cannot name names of the staff who went the extra mile - actually, many extra miles! I had them written down and have not been able to find that critical piece of paper. The hotel itself was charming. There just were no negatives. I would go back again in a heartbeat. But . . . here's what I have to say about staff. Arrived in Amsterdam via rail from Zurich/Frankfurt. Traveled in a first class car with reservations. Large luggage was in back of the car and carry on was in the rack above us. Long story short, even though we never left our seats, somehow someone made off with my carry on bag which contained gifts from Murano, Burano and Rome (including receipts), electronics for my Mac, my new I Phone, and most awful, personal jewelry which was very precious to me. When I went crying to the conductor, he just shrugged. I guess this is a common occurrence. I was distraught and crying when I got to the hotel. A wonderful person, after checking us in, immediately filed a L & F report with the railroad. She came up to our room and obtained an itemized list and then refiled a detailed report (which is helping me with my insurance claim). She also found all the electronics I needed to enable me to use my computer. Throughout our visit, people went out of their way, in every way. BTW, the breakfast was absolutely outstanding, and once again, the staff was also. We witnessed two very unpleasant persons who were quite unreasonable with the dining room and kitchen staff; they were never anything but cordial, accommodating, and patient with them which their behavior didn't warrant. Kudos to all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Room on 5th floor. Stairways are steep and narrow steps by American standards so less agile folks may want to use elevator. Rooms typical small size in Europe but clean. Nothing to view outside windows. Air conditioning really needed during this hot & muggy weather and it worked in our room but not in our companions' room. Its not too far from Central station but we took tram as we were pulling luggage, and tram for Dam Square area stops right in front of hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is available in dining room but is extra charge. Bar on site and this is worth visiting for the story about Heinken beer and the delft tiles which are the motif of this hotel.

Room Tip: If weather is hot, be sure air conditioning is working before accepting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed two nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful for local information, nothing too much trouble. Room was clean, bit uninspiring, try and get one that faces street, the one we had had no view)and bathroom OK. Breakfast was good.The location is perfect either to walk from or catch tram just outside front door.

Room Tip: Try and get a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I love character properties and this hotel certainly provided it. The location is very convenient to Centraal station and the tram stopped immediately outside the door. the directions provided on the website to the hotel were perfect. The staff were very friendly. Be aware however that the rooms are very small, but we are familiar with the European room sizes, and we found the bed a little uncomfortable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here in September for three nights , room was like a studio apartment with all the mod cons. We stayed in room 118 which is located at the back of the hotel yards from the fire escape which i was able to nip out for a quick smoke without all the drama of going thru the hotel and climbing stairs etc. Food was great ( try the famous steaks) and staff are more than willing to help with directions ,maps and anything else they can. Trams can be got outside the hotel but to be honest a 5-10 minute walk and your in the middle of all the action. All in all had a great stay here and would not hesitate to go back, in fact im planning a week next time .....
money well spent, Viva le dam :)

Room Tip: room 118......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location is hard to beat if being close to attractions, restaurants and nightlife matters. The building boasts a beerhouse history (and before that; a brewery) still got a very decent pub. Friendly staff. Beds were not fantastic and floor carpets are not to our liking. Cool and cosy Jordaan close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.