We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High sleep quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, Amsterdam 1012 SJ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High sleep quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The bedding quality in this hotel will make you sleep like a baby. I noticed that the locals use the restaurant in this hotel, and you know if the locals use a hotel, it should be good. Sure enough, the breakfast food quality was top notch. The front desk personnel were very helpful and courteous. The rooms are relatively large, and the quality of the furbishments throughout was excellent, down to details of non slip ceramic flooring in the bath. The hotel looks like a landmark building. Location is central and a few feet from a tram stop. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the central station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    366
    242
    112
    78
See reviews for
88
394
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Sorry, but if you can't get a room in Ansterdam, don't accept this. Book iut if town and travel in. For EUR240 it was really sub-par. Don't worry, if you have to stay here the staff were fine and the rooms clean. But quite worn and very noisy on the street. Ask for a room away from the street if you can (or get a white noise app on your phone).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com secret deals for an excellent price which was lesser than a 3* hotel. The room had a fixed window but overlooked Dam Square. It was summer but the AC was superb and felt as if it was winter ! I was very pleased with the way they had made up the bed & cushions.
The tram stop in just infornt of the entrance and railway station is 20 mins on foot. Plenty of restaurants, and stores around.
It has a lovely blue decor.the hotel offers a secure left luggage free of cost.rooms were as you will find in a 4*.was provided tea-coffee facilities in room which was a bonus.room also had a mini fridge.location -right behind Dam Square, royal palace. High standard free toiletries provided.
Highly recommended , dont miss staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Dam Square, there might be some traffic noise but you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly hotel. Restaurant a bit pricey. Easy reach of everything. Clean rooms
, we were at the back and it was very quiet.
Would definitely recommend it. We had half board and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow, you cannot beat the location of this hotel! You can walk everywhere! I was a little disappointed with the size of my room (Even by European standards), but I guess you don't spend that much time there anyways, and it was immaculately clean, so definitely fine by me! The breakfast in the morning was a little pricey, but it was convenient on our way to the train station. Overall, everything was decent, the location makes this hotel a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here March this year for a 2 night stay. Location is fantastic right behind Dam square and an easy walk to the Anne Frank House. Plenty of decent restaurants nearby. Hotel was adequate for a short stay had everything we needed but to be honest the location was more important to us because how much time do you really spend in your room! Room was spacious enough for 2 people, very clean. When we first arrived our room wasn't ready so we went out for a bit as she told us a couple of hours but we went back early as i didn't feel very well and they got a room ready no problem. Reception staff were very helpful even drew us a map when we needed directions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Decent hotel for a decent price. Within walking distance of the railway station and other surrounding attractions. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. We stayed for few nights. Bicycle rental was across the street, nearby coffee/cafes. Beautiful city, the canal tour was probably the best. Took the train to the country side where the wind mills are. Beautiful and windy scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, Amsterdam 1012 SJ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.