We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Amsterdam is busy, stay out of town, not here.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
93 hotel reviews
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“If Amsterdam is busy, stay out of town, not here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Sorry, but if you can't get a room in Ansterdam, don't accept this. Book iut if town and travel in. For EUR240 it was really sub-par. Don't worry, if you have to stay here the staff were fine and the rooms clean. But quite worn and very noisy on the street. Ask for a room away from the street if you can (or get a white noise app on your phone).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    448
    245
    105
    84
See reviews for
124
525
54
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com secret deals for an excellent price which was lesser than a 3* hotel. The room had a fixed window but overlooked Dam Square. It was summer but the AC was superb and felt as if it was winter ! I was very pleased with the way they had made up the bed & cushions.
The tram stop in just infornt of the entrance and railway station is 20 mins on foot. Plenty of restaurants, and stores around.
It has a lovely blue decor.the hotel offers a secure left luggage free of cost.rooms were as you will find in a 4*.was provided tea-coffee facilities in room which was a bonus.room also had a mini fridge.location -right behind Dam Square, royal palace. High standard free toiletries provided.
Highly recommended , dont miss staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Dam Square, there might be some traffic noise but you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly hotel. Restaurant a bit pricey. Easy reach of everything. Clean rooms
, we were at the back and it was very quiet.
Would definitely recommend it. We had half board and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow, you cannot beat the location of this hotel! You can walk everywhere! I was a little disappointed with the size of my room (Even by European standards), but I guess you don't spend that much time there anyways, and it was immaculately clean, so definitely fine by me! The breakfast in the morning was a little pricey, but it was convenient on our way to the train station. Overall, everything was decent, the location makes this hotel a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here March this year for a 2 night stay. Location is fantastic right behind Dam square and an easy walk to the Anne Frank House. Plenty of decent restaurants nearby. Hotel was adequate for a short stay had everything we needed but to be honest the location was more important to us because how much time do you really spend in your room! Room was spacious enough for 2 people, very clean. When we first arrived our room wasn't ready so we went out for a bit as she told us a couple of hours but we went back early as i didn't feel very well and they got a room ready no problem. Reception staff were very helpful even drew us a map when we needed directions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Decent hotel for a decent price. Within walking distance of the railway station and other surrounding attractions. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. We stayed for few nights. Bicycle rental was across the street, nearby coffee/cafes. Beautiful city, the canal tour was probably the best. Took the train to the country side where the wind mills are. Beautiful and windy scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a short break in Amsterdam. We had a room right on the front of the hotel, looking out across the main street, but with very effective secondary glazing on the window there was no problem at all with noise. The room was more than adequate for our needs - after all, on a short break, how much time are you going to spend in it? - !!!! Only possible downside, if the weather had been very hot the room may have been too warm - the window does not open. There is air conditioning though, but we did not need it so cannot comment on its effectiveness. We did not eat at the hotel either so cannot comment on the food. But with a tram stop right outside the door it is easy to get to from Central Station and easy to be on your way sigh-seeing in the morning. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.