We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient and Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Martin, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient and Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 primarily for the location near Dam Square, but found the place to be very nice with a helpful staff in addition to the location virtues. We had a room on the 4th floor that had a wonderful view and convenient public transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    330
    207
    90
    75
See reviews for
91
409
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral merseyside
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went for our 30th wedding anniversary, the staff were helpful you get a free map, they are very courteous. the hotel itself is right in the centre of everything, you can walk from the station to the hotel and right next door is a food plaza so you can buy your breakfast if you had room only, as we did. The hotel is beautiful and has blue delft everywhere the rooms are clean although smallish, we went easyjet and that was a great service too.

Room Tip: book early !! its a very busy hotel due to its location. no noise at night but thats probably due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel has a very good location in Amsterdam but the hotel itself was disappointing. Our room was small and reminded me of a cabin on a ship. Water pressure in the shower was rather low. Breakfast wasnt included and cost € 19,50 extra p.p a day. Got breakfast in Albert Heijn instead, a supermarket 2 min from the hotel. Dont buy bottled water in the reception! 1 litre cost us € 7. Generally the staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend in the beginning of December 2012. The staff at reception said specifically that breakfast started from 6.30 am every day of the week, but when we went to breakfast on Saturday, it did not start until 7. I had to leave for work by 7 so could not get breakfast on that day.
We did not have enough toilet papers and items for shower, and we have to ask for new items every time. And our room was not properly cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for our first visit to amsterdam. The hotel is in a perfect location just steps away from dam square, kalvestraat, amsterdam central station and very close to the red light district as well. The staff was also very helpful with tips on places to visit, directions etc etc. Only grouse the room was small but if u are gonna be out all day like us it doesnt matter. The perfect location more than makes up for other faults.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from the Hotel, my daughter and I stayed for 3 nights. the hotel was very easy to find and 10 mins from station, perfect location. Rooms were spotless and cleaned daily with fresh towels. we would definitely stay here again. Can also recommend the Ribs at mas Y mas restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our first short break to Amsterdam. The hotel was very easy to find and walk to from Central Station, and located perfectly for sightseeing. Our room was clean, comfortable and ideal for our needs. We would highly recommend the hotel and certainly stay here if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.